Endless winter

Garden playhouse

It’s sleeting and 12° here in the Northern Shenandoah Valley of Virginia on March 1. March came in like a lion. There is 6-8 inches of snow on the ground, down from ten inches or so from earlier in the week. I look out at my cold lonely garden playhouse and can’t wait for the Spring day when I can throw open the door and take back my cute little shed space from the lucky field mice that live there in the winter.

Spring will come even though right now I think we’re stuck in endless winter. I lay awake at night planning the vegetable rotation in the raised beds, the cleanup and pruning I’ll do out front as soon as I can, and the compost bins I hope I can convince my husband to build.

I think besides the seasonal affective disorder one hears about…one might even have, winter fatigue, especially this winter, has touched everyone. It’s been so bone chilling cold and windy, especially windy. I do not like wind. I very do not. I think The Farmer’s Almanac correctly predicted this winter for this area of the country and I hope they are correct about Spring coming. Right about now, I think it really won’t. I really hope I’m wrong.

Time changes next weekend and there’s really no point. What farmer can get outside and needs extended daylight? How about you? Is Spring going to even arrive? Will March go out like a lamb?

 

 

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things, Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

