Morning by morning

Great is They Faithfulness

I may have gotten master gardener certification but I have never focused on indoor plants, and especially after we had several cats that couldn’t stay away from them for one reason or another. I banned all houseplants for years.

Since we moved to Virginia I have been gifted with several African violets from someone who is very talented with starting them. My own track record with them includes rot, spotting, and shriveling up to die a messy death, so, it was with fear and trepidation I accepted the responsibility of their care. These baby violets came to me as tiny tiny starts.

It is with intentional dedication and learning how to water, feed, and pinch them, they have grown up to bloom—a miracle! Especially this long cold winter! How blessed and happy to see blooms here in my own house. It took work and “faithfulness.”

It’s easy to get discouraged with the weather and with life but we have what we need if we have faith. The great hymn Great is Thy Faithfulness by Thomas Chisholm and William Runyan is one of my favorites. Here are the lyrics in case you’d like to sing with me:

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee,
Thou changest not, Thy compassions they fail not,
As Thou hast been,Thou forever wilt be.

Refrain:
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me!

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
Sun, moon, and stars in their courses above;
Join with all nature in manifold witness,
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy, and love.

(Refrain)

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
Thine own great presence to cheer and to guide;
Strength for today, and bright hope for tomorrow
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside.

(Refrain)

And here’s a Worship version:

Be blessed with mercies and faithfulness!

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Prayer & Worship, Virginia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

