Making sense of commercial images

Have you seen this commercial? I don’t watch a lot of TV and pay even less attention to commercials. But if I do, they have to make sense. Like, if I were going to buy frozen diet meals, one of the reasons would be my kitchen—and the appliances I have to produce quality meals. Take a look at that beautiful kitchen, that beautiful stove!

The fact is, I watched this commercial several times and could not remember the product, just the crazy idea someone who had that beautiful stove, would even need to buy frozen meals?! It makes no sense. I’m sure the message makes sense, but the visual image and background setting doesn’t match.

What about this one?

Evidently this is very controversial for some reason. For the life of me I can’t figure out why. It’s so adorable! I just want to hug the little girl, Gracie. I want to be their friends. And, from the very first second I noticed the Cheerios box and remembered the product. Nicely done, I’d say. Now, if they’d just make gluten-free Cheerios, I’d be really happy.

Size matters, we know this. But the good news is, curvy girls are appearing more in main stream TV, and, commercials. Open-minded companies have made the bold move to show their products being used by people of size, and most importantly, understand that people of size have jobs and income, and shop for products.

The nice folks at Glucerna decided to use a curvy girl for their commercial. Diabetes is a reality for those of us with weight issues. There’s no denying that. But I just wish the folks at Glucerna thought as much about wardrobe as they did about the packaging of their product. This sweater on this lovely woman is too plain, and reveals a serious lack of a really good foundation garment. I’m sorry if you never noticed, but I did right away. And that’s all I’ll say. Been there, live there.

Glucerna Gal

The last commercials I’ll mention must have a huge following judging from the more than 3 million Likes on Youtube just this one commercial has…If I hear Morty and Lee’s voices, I look up. I can’t help myself. And, I want to move in with them! Their home is an extension of their personalities and I can’t picture them anywhere else. Here, look how adorable…

Do you have any favorites I should be looking for? Or duds that make no sense or are so offensive you’d never be caught with their product? That’s a whole ‘nother post!

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Stuff I think about. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

