A garden waits for no one

I kept saying to myself, I’ll go out one cool morning and pick beans. Or, I’ll go out when it cools off this evening and pick beans and cucumbers. Then I said to myself, it’s going to be cooler this weekend, I’ll get out there and get everything picked and weeded. But no, I did not go out to the garden. I let 10 days go by. Ten days that were above 90° and the evenings didn’t get much below 75° and the humidity was not as bad as Texas humidity but close. I kind of imagined it was too hot for the garden to grow.

So finally this week I went out early one morning wagon in tow and starting picking. My 4 raised beds are 4 feet by 4 feet square and although you might think that can’t produce much it is more than plenty for the two of us. Starting in the first bed with my 1 row of green beans, I picked a 3 gallon bucket full after I pulled out the spinach that had bolted, and weeded away some nasty weeds. That one 4 foot row of green beans yielded 3 gallons of beans. Did you get that? BUT, only about 2/3 of them were worthwhile. The older ones had to be composted. This bed also has red and green lettuces which I left for now.

The next bed was cucumbers of embarrassing proportions. I’ve already made more than 3 gallons of pickles so I wasn’t that motivated to get out there and it showed. Most of the cucumbers I picked were over sized and I didn’t really hope for much. They filled 2/3 of the wagon and weighed a ton. I think we’ll use about half of them and the rest will be composted. Surprisingly, they aren’t bitter, but they do need to be seeded and peeled because the skins are tough. Sliced thin, salted and squeezed out, they make a great salad with my Auntie Mimi’s dressing on them, or I make a cream dressing with Greek yogurt.

Overgrown zucchiniI should not have been surprised to find over grown zucchini but for some reason I was. I guess I thought they had stopped producing since the first rush of zucchini was so great. Last year they did poorly for some reason so I’m very pleased with having them grow well this year. I picked 6 really good sized zucchini. The perfect size for grating or shredding.

After weeding the rest of the beds, checking the tomatoes and herbs, I pulled my wagon into the garage to consider the options. It took me a couple of days of planning but yesterday was a Zucchini Marathon Day. Everything turned out great and I’ve used up everything picked! I better go check the garden though, clearly it’s not going to wait until it’s convenient.

Zucchini Pie

This is a no crust pie perfect for lunch and as it turns out, yummy the second day and I’ve saved leftovers for lunches this week.

Spray a 9 inch pie plate with cooking spray. Preheat oven to 350° F

Zucchini Prep: I peeled the larger zucchini, quartered, and carved out the seeds from the middle. After shredding with the larger grating disk on my mouli, I let drain in a sieve and only squeezed out the shredded pulp a little.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1 cup of chopped onion
  • 1 cup AP flour or gluten free mix
  • 1 cup grated farmers cheese
  • 3 eggs beaten
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 T shredded Parmesan
  • 2 T chopped fresh basil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 4 slices bacon cut in 1 inch pieces and browned but not crisp

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, mix together well, then put into pie plate and distribute evenly. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until golden brown. You could sprinkle with additional parmesan when it comes out of the oven but I didn’t. Cool 10-15 minutes before slicing.

I think this would make 4-6 servings depending on what else goes with. We had this for dinner with green beans and salad, and nice crusty bread. Next time I think I might bake this recipe divided into the large muffin tin I have. That way we’ll have individual servings and I think it would make a swell presentation plus be great for freezing.

After baking 2 loaves of Zucchini Bread and a Chocolate Chip Zucchini Cake (next post), I froze the rest of the shredded zucchini in 1 cup portions. Each cup of shredded zucchini was wrapped in wax paper, frozen, then inserted into a freezer bag. I have more than 6 cups of shredded zucchini for use at a later time!

No Crust Zucchini Pie

 

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Garden, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A garden waits for no one

  1. Pingback: It’s not about the overgrown zucchini | Robin in v-a

Leave a Reply

