Daddalies updated

 

Ralph A Moehrke

Today is Father’s Day, June 16, 2013. Because of some old-fashioned guilt, I did a mad dash and finally updated my dad’s Daddalie book. I even had it professionally printed, and although I haven’t seen it yet, I’m certain it’s going to be better than my original hand assembled pages with the hand stitched binding…literally, hand stitched with needle and pearl cotton.

I put together the original back in 1998 when I was not yet working full time, right after I learned to use a computer. I was so thrilled to be able to create this little wonder of a book. My dad was also excited and but started nearly right away sending me updates for “the next one.”

He frequently asks or reminds me the update hasn’t happened yet. The guilt has piled on. It is what it is. It’s the best for what I can do now in 2013. My skills are better, but I’m not interested in hand printing or hand stitching binding. Pros can do that way better.

I had just a few printed and they will be delivered tomorrow along with a pen, envelopes and the idea that my dad can autograph and notate on pages he wants for each of us.

I don’t feel guilt free. Not at all. It could have been better. I will always feel that. It could have had more entries. It could have had more pictures. It just could have had more of everything. It hardly seems possible to create a book about my dad on so few pages. It does capture his essence I hope. He’s a larger than life individual. And, because he’s my dad, he’s the best dad ever on so many levels!

Here’s a preview, take a look…

Daddalies

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Daddalies: Ralph A Moehrke and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

