General Lee Motor Court

I drive just a few miles to work with my whole commute taking about 12-15 minutes. I enjoy how pretty my drive is. We live in a rural area and the industrial park where my office is on the outer limits of town and right along the Shenandoah River. I have views of the Blue Ridge Mountains to the East and the Alleghenies to the West.

Recently, on a trip home and caught behind some large trucks laboring up a hill, I noticed a driveway I hadn’t noticed before and a barricade with a For Sale sign on it. I caught a glimpse of a building at the end of the long drive but it looked like it had been a long time since it had been in use. I wondered about the building.

Later that night I checked the Internet and couldn’t find a property listed for sale there. I checked Google Maps and found the approximate address and an aerial view of the property which only made me more curious.

One day on the way home, I drove down the public side road to see if there was a view of the property that I could see what the heck was back there…and if there was a way to access. Rather Nancy Drew of me isn’t it? I’m not saying I would trespass, but the sign did say For Sale. I could be a potential buyer, yes? But no, the only thing I could see was an even bigger building that appeared to be on the property.

Back at home I checked the aerial again. Sure enough the bigger building was there, hidden in the trees. I hadn’t noticed it before. I wondered if they all went together as one property? I realized I was obsessed with finding out.

This week some tree trimmers went down the highway and trimmed back trees around the telephone and electrical poles. I was surprised to see a sign out in front of the property. Rusted, pitted, letters missing, it didn’t really say much….on the way home. The next day on the way to work, I could clearly read, General Lee Motor Court. Ah-hah! That’s something to Google.

And this is what I found.

But that’s all.

The area is peppered with lots of small motels and hotels and this is a very tourist rich area. It’s scenic, historic, and folkloric. And it’s driving me crazy to find out more!

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Virginia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

