Dad’s pocket packet, the original Twitter

It occurred to me the other day that my dad and all the guys who carry pocket packets originated the idea of Twitter. On any given day my dad has a packet of miscellaneous papers on which he has curated and collected things he thinks are interesting. Quotes, t-shirt sayings, billboard tag lines, and of course his own observations and notations make up the majority. There are even snippets he pinches from magazines in waiting rooms. He’s always on the lookout for the funny and the wisdom of the ages, but just the stuff that fits on his recycled shards of paper. See how Twitter-like that is? 
The packet is both a resource for topics of conversation and a reference. My dad has said he could give a talk at the drop of a hat from his pocket packet. That’s in case he ever finds himself at lunch with a group who have lost their speaker. He’s there for you. In fact, if you express any interest he’ll share a card or two with you, and quite possibly take down your name on one of his blank cards to send you your very own pocket packet. 
Recently, my dad did exactly that. He sent me a pocket packet of my own. Just when I thought I’ve seen every shard of paper he’s ever collected I found myself fascinated by what he chose to send me. I’ve sorted and resorted, flipped and turned the cards in case he’s used both sides, and I’m not ashamed to say, I have Tweeted some of his gems!
***
Photo: my dad’s paper “tweets.” 

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dad’s pocket packet, the original Twitter

  1. Love your post and your dad. What a smart andperceptive man, with a whole lot of youthfulenthusiasm.OpinionsToGo

  2. Great post Robin!! Your Dad is a fun guy, love that he collects all that witty and fun stuff, and awesome that he shares it with you too! John's Dad used to send him things from magazines he'd found from time to time too, usually about a car gadget or motor thing.

Leave a Reply

