Pumpkin eclair cake?

I have this old faithful throw together dessert called Chocolate Eclair Cake. It’s not really cake. It’s not really chocolate eclair. It’s an easy peasy throw together dessert made from graham crackers, french vanilla pudding, whipped topping, and a tub of chocolate frosting. Most of my friends and family love it when I make it. Or the ones in Texas do that is. My new friends in Virginia don’t really know what to make of it. The first time I made it and brought it to work here, I noticed the conference room of people picking at it, dumping most of it in the trash. That should have been my first clue on so many levels. Let’s move on before I digress.

Today is Thanksgiving day, my traditional day to go grocery shopping. Not kidding. I go during football and have the place usually to myself. After working for nearly 4 weeks straight we were out of everything. We didn’t even have makings for dinner. So off I went to shop. I wasn’t prepared to see Christmas. The last time I was in the store Halloween candy was everywhere. I hate to shop but when stores are new, it’s almost like being a tourist. That’s the way I felt today as I noticed new items, new flavors, new aisle arrangements.

I went with a list thinking I’d make my dessert as usual since our kids are coming this weekend. I found pumpkin spice instant pudding mix, a “seasonal favorite.” It’s the first time I’ve ever seen it so I decided what the heck, lets see what happens. Let’s just see if it is indeed a seasonal favorite. I’ve got the layers of pumpkin spice pudding and graham crackers put together. In the morning I’ll frost with cream cheese frosting. I think. I’ll wait to see. Maybe that’s a little too much? It could turn out awful, but I bet it will be good.

I’m also making my mother’s buttermilk bars, but not with buttermilk. I have some sour half and half that I’ve strained and have ready to bake with. The recipe calls for chopped pecans but pecans are in short supply this year. Have you heard this? It’s true. So I’m going to use hazelnuts which are a preferred nut in our house. They are one of my husband’s favorite. How bad can it be?

I should know better than to mess with substitutions. We’ll see.

And that concludes all the shopping I will venture out for on Thanksgiving or Thanksgiving weekend. But you go if you want…

I’m thankful to stay home.

***

 

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

