It’s not about the turkey…

“It’s not about the turkey,” she said, “it’s about family.” Then she added, “Please don’t feel bad.”

Grateful tears stung my eyes and I thanked her for about the seventh time. It was the last thing I expected to hear. I had just told her the turkey we shipped by overnight express wasn’t going to make it to her house in time for Thanksgiving. Not just any turkey. A certified organic, certified humane® heritage breed turkey that the farm I am the Internet sales coordinator for, pasture-raised for the last half year. A turkey that cost as much as a week’s groceries.

The call before her, didn’t go as well. The man was disappointed and angry, and felt the need to pelt me with insults over the phone, not just once, three times. He called back twice to tell me “it ain’t right to treat people like this” he said in his deep South accent. He was so verbally abusive, when I got off the phone the first time, I sobbed. People don’t talk like that to me. I wasn’t raised that way. I don’t hang around people that talk that way to each other. The worst part was he wouldn’t listen, and he accused me of not being truthful.

Even though we prepared to ship our orders, planned the boxing, triple checked our orders, in the end there were a few mistakes made. Just one was totally our fault. Make that, my fault. That’s the one that weighed heaviest on my Sister Mary Responsibility shoulders. The one that I waited until last to call. The one I expected to be worse than the worst.

But it wasn’t the worst.

It was a grace-filled conversation. Because there is four hours difference between our coast and hers, she still had time to run out for a substitute. “It won’t be as fantastic as yours,” she said, ” but this will be our turkey adventure story for 2011.” She thanked me for letting her know and and her final words washed away the hurt of the previous call, and some of the exhaustion of the last few weeks. She blessed me. I consider her a gift, and answered prayer.

Because really, it’s not about the turkey, it’s about family. It’s about thankfulness. I’m thankful to be working. I’m grateful to be busy. I’m grateful to have problems to solve and connections to make. I’m grateful to realize what’s important, and what’s a distraction, that even in imperfection there are perfect lessons to learn.

Happy Thanksgiving from our house to yours.

***
Graphic from Clip Art Etc.
Description: A male turkey, sitting in front of a barn. Source: S. G. Goodrich Animal Kingdom Illustrated Vol 2 (New York: Derby & Jackson, 1859)2:247

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s not about the turkey…

  1. That really is a turkey adventure story for 2011, a great one too, with a happy ending.Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.OpinionsTo Go

  2. nance marie says:

    Grace and bitterness.My first name, nancy, means grace. My second name, marie, means a sea of bitterness. I hated knowing that, and wanted to get rid of the marie…until i realized the fact that there is always bitterness, yet, Grace is stronger. There will always be more grace than bitterness. Now when i see nancy marie, i think of God's Grace always being stronger and bigger than the bitterness.i now like my names, just the way they are.i am glad for the Grace that the woman poured on you.what a wonderful story.

  3. Robin says:

    Thank you both for stopping by. Nancy, you are the most grace filled person, your comments are always appreciated. My middle name is Marie too. (Isn't everyone's?) Robin means excellent worth and I always thought of Marie as related to Mary, mother of Jesus. In fact my Grandmother's name was Marie, but pronounced Mary.

Leave a Reply

