Tumbling down

I took a tumble the other night. I went out to see the super full moon—a full moon that is closer to earth on this go round the planet, and therefore, appearing 14% bigger than we normally see. My Twitter and Facebook were full of mentions. So I went out to take a looky loo. I snapped this picture at the end of my driveway hoping to get some of the Mimosa branches over the top, all lacy and dramatic. I tried another few shots but ended up trashing them. I also ended up trashing myself. I fell like a ton of bricks going UP the cement step into my house. To add insult to injury the aluminum storm door sprang back and smacked me in the butt.  I swear sometimes I live in a Roadrunner cartoon.

There was no one around to hear me groan, no one to come help me straighten up, no one to bring me tissues for the tears streaming down my face. Why was no one there? Because they were in bed. Sleeping. Not even Boomer came to sympathize. Stupid cat. I’m never going to worry about making noise at night again.

I have dandy bruises on my legs and I wrecked the same toe I always do. It’s been broken before. I think it’s only sprained this time though. It’s a lovely dark purple red right now. Shoes hurt. slippers hurt. Just when I thought it was better and went out to do some yardwork, I messed it up more. It’s a big swollen mess. So I’m trying to take it easy.

Honestly, it was a pretty moon. I guess it was bigger? I’m not sure it was that special…really, that had more to do with the fact I was standing there alone, except for God who IS always with me. I did give Him props for the moon. The thing I forgot to ask Him was for protection walking back into the house. I’ll know better next time. I also think I’m going to have that silly aluminum door removed.

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tumbling down

  1. nance says:

    sorry to hear about this…and late too.
    i just found this blog. it was a mystery to me.

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    Thanks Nance! I read you took a tumble too and immediately got achey breaky for you. I’m well on the way to being on the mend. This blog is the result of my old Windows Live Space converted to their WordPress offering. Still learning the tricks!

Leave a Reply

