Win big every day!

“Imagine that you had won the following prize in a contest: Each morning your bank would deposit $86,400 in your account for your use. However, this prize has rules, just as any game has certain rules.

The first set of rules would be: Everything that you didn’t spend during each day would be taken away from you. You may not simply transfer money into some other account. You may only spend the money. Each morning, the bank opens your account with another $86,400 for that day.

The second set of rules: The bank can end the game without warning! It can close the account and you will not receive a new one.

What would you personally do?

You would buy anything and everything you wanted right? Not only for yourself, but for all people you love, right? Even for people you don’t know, because you couldn’t possibly spend it all on yourself. You would try to spend every cent, and use it all.

Actually, this game is reality! Each of us is in possession of such a magical bank. We just can’t seem to see it. The magical bank is time! Each morning we awaken to receive 86,400 seconds as a gift of life, and when we go to sleep at night, any remaining time is NOT credited to us. What we haven’t lived up that day is forever lost. Yesterday is forever gone.

Each morning the account is refilled, but it can dissolve  at any time, and without warning! So, what will you do with your 86,400 seconds? Those seconds are worth so much more than the same amount in dollars. Think about that, and always think of this:

Enjoy every second of your life, because time races by so much quicker than you think. Take care of yourself, be happy, love deeply, and enjoy life!”

Maybe you’ve seen this already as a blog post, or watched the videos on YouTube, and yes, there are videos. This came to me as an e-mail from my Mom. She gets a lot of forwarded e-mail from friends and distant family who seemingly consider forwarded messages communication of a sort. While Mom is better at NOT forwarding these messages to us kids, she still does from time to time. The above was one such message which I only just happened to open because I usually steer clear of Forwarded messages, especially the ones that say if you don’t send this on to at least 12 of your contacts your face will fall off…or something like that.

This one though, struck a cord. And, I can’t help but wonder if my Mom was sending us a message…a communication about our use of time, and lack of attention?! Was it a message to make us all think about what we call busy lives? Hmmm.

Anyway, as one who crams a lot of stuff into my day, some of it clearly isn’t quality stuff. This I know, especially after spending two weeks caring for my Mom following her surgery last October. Time spent caring for her made everything else I called worthwhile, seem small, even silly. Really, I’m thinking about time differently these days. I’m thinking about how fleeting, fragile, and what a gift each second really is!

So, the question I ask myself every day now is, am I spending my 86,400 in the best possible way? How are you doing? Where can you spend differently or improve the quality?

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Win big every day!

  1. Helen says:

    Hi Robin. Interesting thoughts. I suppose I really could invest my time better. I never liked scheduling my day, except in the classroom, but I think your post here gives good reason I should look at that differently.

  2. Our time is our most important resource. However, we tend to view time in a very narrow linear focus in our culture. Reading "Time Management for Unmanageable People" really opened me up to see time in different ways. I now believe that there is a spiritual dimension to time which I will not fully understand until I am in heaven. There are different kinds of time — depending on how it's being used! One of the things I still can't get my head around is how we can pray for something and see God answer. But later it's very clear that He anticipated our prayers and prepared that answer before we knew we needed anything. "Your Father in Heaven knows what you need before you ask Him." Prayer time is elastic, it reaches back and forward, even while it's firmly planted in the present! Amazing!So glad you benefited from my comment at High Calling Blogs last night. I hesitated to leave the comment — didn't feel that I had the right to say those things…turning a discussion forum into a mini-lecture!…but I also felt somehow that I should.

  3. Robin Arnold says:

    Working at home is both a blessing and a curse with the why of that several blog posts unto itself. What Cassandra said that struck me was about how the enemy doesn't want you to be successful, which I know, but didn't apply to my time use, or spiritual gift use. That was a revelation to me. Go here to read the post and comments: http://www.thehighcalling.org/family/enough-year-not-shopping#commenting Again, in your comment Cassandra I'm realizing I don't think I've prayed lately for how I use my day, or for discernment, and quite possibly, for protection against those things that are not worthy of Him or the use of my talents. My deepest thanks for stopping by. Helen I think you rock. Cassandra, you bless me.

Leave a Reply

