Is it later yet?

February is later already. Over. Done. Kaput. Was it as full for you as it was for me? The thing is I’ve known for a long time, winter months aren’t as long as they used to be. Gone are the days when February was a time to catch up. Do not put off until February what you can get done earlier. It’s just not going to be as winter doldrums as you think. Period.

Back in my working days, and way back in the early 2000’s, it was customary to put off maintenance chores until February. It was easy to block off buildings or entire floors if we had to, to paint, strip and wax floors, clean storage areas, and do deep cleaning. In the office we’d look forward to February, to do complicated document assemblies, revamp files, or do tedious audit chores. But after about 2003, we noticed that our winter lull never happened. I should have known better, but I didn’t.

I imagined my February as being rather lull-like, as if in luxurious slow motion, especially after our busy holiday season. I saved personal things I’d get done later in February, I set appointments for later in February when I had time, and I agreed to a new project for later in February…silly old girl. The problem with February isn’t its length, or speed, or fullness of days. It’s me.

Oh, by the way, Rabbit Rabbit Rabbit, March 1, 2011. And, for the record, March came in like a lamb.

Photo: Kate Travis, UK

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. Psalm 90:12

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it later yet?

  1. Cheryl Smith says:

    I'm wondering about that supposed winter lull also. Sweet photo! Glad to find your post through The High Calling email digest.

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

