Women’s Health Month

February is American Heart Health Month with the 1st Friday designated as National Wear Red Day to raise awareness for Women’s Heart Health.  My nose has been in my work lately but I caught a glimpse of Barbara Walters talking about her TV special, on tonight, titled, A Matter of Life & Death. It sounds like a great show, funny, emotional, and informative.

I don’t normally watch or read anything about health stuff. I tend to be a bit of a hypochondriac. I develop symptoms as people describe them. That first link up there lists symptoms. I’ve got them. All of them. Not really. Okay really. But not all of them. Just some of them. I guess that makes it extra smart I become more aware.

Heart disease is the number one killer of women and the risk for heart disease increases between the ages of 40 and 60. That’s me. Add in family history, and me and my sisters need to be paying attention. So, let’s you and me take a look together at what we should be watching out for…let’s be strong.

Risk factors:

  • Alcohol
  • Blood Cholesterol Levels
  • Diabetes
  • Diet
  • Heredity
  • Obesity
  • Physical Activity
  • Tobacco Use

What can we be doing?

  • Eat healthy.
  • Be smoke free.
  • Exercise at least 2 1/2 hours per week.

That last thing is my biggest downfall. But that breaks down to about 20 minutes per day. That should be easy, I just need a better attitude about it, and I need to take the time. I can walk the neighborhood, get out in the garden, do the stairs in my house, even try a TV exercise routine.

Face it. Know the symptoms:

  • Pain or discomfort in the jaw, neck, or back.
  • Unusual or unexplained fatigue.
  • Feeling weak, light-headed, faint, nauseated, or sudden dizziness.
  • Chest pain or discomfort.
  • Pain or discomfort in arms or shoulder. Upper body discomfort.
  • Shortness of breath.
  • Break out in a cold sweat.

If you think that you or someone you know is having a heart attack, you should call 9–1–1 immediately.

We, us women, need to take the time and effort for ourselves. We have things to do, people to take care of, lives to live!

***

Wear red dress graphic from cdc.gov.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

