Sometimes in winter

Sometimes In Winter
by Steve Katz, Blood, Sweat, & Tears
Sometimes in Winter
I gaze into the streets
And walk through snow and city sleet
Behind your room

Sometimes in Winter
Forgotten memories
Remember you behind the trees
With leaves that cried

By the window once I waited for you
Laughing slightly you would run
Trees alone would shield us in the meadow
Makin’ love in the evening sun

Now you’re gone girl
And the lamp posts call your name
I can hear, them
In the spring of frozen rain

Now you’re gone girl
And the time’s slowed down till dawn
It’s a cold room and the walls ask
Where you’ve gone

Sometimes In Winter
I love you when the good times
Seem like mem’ries int he spring
That never came

Sometimes In Winter
I wish the empty streets
Would fill with laughter from the tears
That ease my pain

Sometimes in Winter was one of my husband and mine’s favorite songs way back when. We were big Blood, Sweat, & Tears fans. There is a wonderful Sometimes in Winter video on YouTube you should see with lovely winter scenes, which reminded me of last winter.

The winter of 2010 was our first winter in Virginia, our first true winter season since we moved away from Wisconsin to warm climate states in 1988. We lived in hot San Antonio, Texas for 18 years. To be closer to family we made the decision to move to Virginia, and research and propaganda said winters consisted of “light dustings of snow that melt right away.” Imagine my surprise at the first 16 inch snow which repeated again with snowfalls that kept increasing until March when we had 32 inches. Yes, I was cold. Very cold. But it did get warm soon enough. Grass turned green, trees leafed out, roses bloomed, and mosquitos found me.

Our first winter in our new house has been fairly snowless, but still, it’s been cold. The big difference is our heating system which is more than adequate and if it wasn’t we have two fireplaces. It seems everyone in Virginia plans on using multiple heat sources. We have been quite cozy. We’ll come full circle to warm weather again. This I know. In the mean time we cook stew and soup, and snuggle on the sofa under our magic fleece blanket whilst we wait, the sometimes in winter.

“As long as the earth endures,
seedtime and harvest,
cold and heat,
summer and winter,
day and night
will never cease.”
Genesis 8:22

For more views of Winter visit Peter Pollock and the One Word At A Time blog carnival.
***
Photo above, Woodbridge Va, taken in our front yard, winter 2010.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Word At A Time. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sometimes in winter

  1. jasonS says:

    I'll give you the unnecessary advice that I get all the time from people around here in Alaska, "stay warm!" I always think, "what else was I going to do given the choice?" 🙂

  2. Candy says:

    This post "made me so very happy…"The fact that we both love BS&T really dates us, you know. I even tried to book them to sing in our wedding. Nope, no response. Silly me.

  3. Winter is a time to reflect on perhaps forgotten memories. Your song you selected is lovely!Winter will find you no matter where you move it seems. But Spring is fast approaching and a new day dawns. May you discover joy even in winter and a glorious new day as it approaches.

  4. Beautiful photo–reminds me of a similar setting here.I wasn't familiar with that particular song of Blood, Sweat, and Tears, even though I enjoyed the group's music and bought some of it "way back when." :)Therefore, I had to meander over to Youtube and watch the video. Awesome photography—the shots of the trees reflected in water were incredible!My daughter lives in Texas and she's cold in Ohio is summer. Growing up, she always said she was going to move to some place warm all year long.Of course, last year they had a couple of snow storms—these days it seems weather is unpredictable everywhere!I enjoyed your post–came over from blog carnival. Blessings–Beth

  5. Maureen says:

    I thought you'd been in Virginia much longer! The real test here is getting through March; it's the weirdest month for weather.Thanks for the BST stroll down memory lane. Glad you participated.

  6. Robin Arnold says:

    Thanks everyone for stopping by! We're having "wintery mix" today. It's funny how different regions use different weather terms.

  7. i love walking the deserted streets during a big snow…thanks for looking at my pics

Leave a Reply

