A rant, a whine, and a bit of mostly good news

A rant: Why do print publications, magazines, put the text of articles on the left side? This makes reading awkward, hard to hold. They probably think ad placement on the right side is prime real estate. I don’t buy things or read ads because they are on the right page. I just don’t. I actually intentionally stopped buying magazines because of the cost about 5 years ago. They are even more expensive now, in fact I just paid $14.99 for a decorating magazine–it was a reward for making it through an icky biopsy and medical test (see below). I stopped subscribing to magazines because they don’t arrive on time. Who wants a magazine two weeks after it appears on the newstand or in the library? Or, in dumpsters? Which is where my dad finds magazines for free. We read, we re-recycle. We’re extra green. Recently I got a couple of magazines for free by subscription. It’s just discouraging to hurt my wrists holding a magazine so it can be read. Magazines should wise up. Just saying.

A whine: Speaking of reading small print, it would be swell if publications  arranged their page layout for those of us who wear bifocals. Please put it low on the page, and in larger font.

Mostly good news: My biopsy results are normal except for the part where they aren’t but I have two options for a solution, which in the grand scheme of things, is easy peasy. Getting older means higher health maintenance. No, it’s intentional health maintenance. I have regrets about not caring more when I was younger and working at it, and taking advantage of the terrific medical care I had access to. My advice, go to the doctor. Be well.

Bonus: My daughter sent me the picture below after reading my teacup post of a few days ago. I love it!

Pleasantly Disturbed Thursday Posts HERE!

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Pleasantly Disturbed. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A rant, a whine, and a bit of mostly good news

  1. Maureen says:

    Great pic of the teacups!

    The interesting thing about article placement: For newspapers, the most important article always is placed top right. And, of course, the larger the font, the more important the story (except when it’s not).

    Online, there is a good reason for text to begin on left: Our eyes read naturally left to right (unless we’re readers of Arabic).

    Another good reason to give up print: You can adjust the print size.

    Good to hear about the good news.

  2. Duane Scott says:

    You know I think I have a solution to your magazine problem.

    Get a nook color.

    You can make the text as large as you want, and you can skip the ads if you want. Perfect for bi-focal, ad-hating, wrist cramping ninny pickers like you. 😀

    This was a fun read! See you around!

  3. Helen says:

    Your post reminded me of how I canceled my newspaper subscriptions because they started making the print in the comics too small. Yep. Since January 5, I only get the Sunday paper. It keeps down the clutter a bit, too!

  4. Robin Arnold says:

    I AM considering a Nook Color actually. I do love paper though. I just miss the old days when there wasn’t so much psychology and marketing involved, also when articles were longer.

    Just you wait Duane. When I was your age I thought I’d put off and do all kinds of things at my age. I didn’t plan on having to look down a tunnel to see though. Mark my words. You’ll be whining too after 40.

    Thanks for stopping by all y’all.

  5. DS says:

    FYI, I’m already whining at 21.

    I will be much more of a ninny picker than you at age.40. I’m just saying.

Leave a Reply

