Project: Memorizing Philippians-Week 1

Last week our P2R assignment was to memorize Philippians 1:1-6. It goes like this:

Philippians 1

1 This letter is from Paul and Timothy, slaves of Christ Jesus. I am writing to all of God’s holy people in Philippi who belong to Christ Jesus, including the elders and deacons.


2 May God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ give you grace and peace.

3 Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God.
 
4 Whenever I pray, I make my requests for all of you with joy,
 
5 for you have been my partners in spreading the Good News about Christ from the time you first heard it until now.
 
6 And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.
 
I did need a prompt or two to type that. My memory is chemically challenged with two new prescription meds. I don’t use that as an excuse, just a note that I expect these first verses to take hold as I proceed, but also as I get released from my med cycle.
 
You might note I am memorizing the New Living Translation not the recommended version. That’s because that’s what my Bible is. Also, I’m using a notebook already on hand, not an actual moleskin. Writing helps me commit to memory so a notebook is a useful tool.
 
Some notes for more study:
Verse 1: “slaves of Christ Jesus” is an interesting description and I wonder how a slave differs from a servant? Do both words indicate reluctance? Or willingness? Or dedication?
 
Verses 2-6 are the epitome of encouragement. Paul was an encourager! Hearing these words, surely must have built stronger faith and helped keep and cast the vision. I don’t think I ever noticed how encouraging these words were before!

Map Graphic from: http://www.jesuswalk.com/philippians/0_intro.htm
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Prayer & Worship and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

