O is for scrub brush…

I wonder what A through N look like? And were there P through Z models too? Oh nevermind. O is for Oatmeal Cookies. I’m baking Oatmeal cookies today for my husband.

Last night, as he does most nights, he looked up from his book and asked, “Do we have any cookies?”

“Nope.” I didn’t even look at him, so he couldn’t see me roll my eyes. Then I said, “I just got diabetic lab results, it’s not likely there will ever be cookies in the house again.”

His face dropped. My sweet husband of triple decade years, who truly deserves cookies, was clearly disappointed. “At least not cookies I like.” I added this just to cheer him up. And he did. But we still didn’t have cookies in the house, so he ate a piece of frozen cake I was saving for our daughter.  (Sorry Kate.)

The fact is neither of us needs cookies. We’re at the age where sweets are not our friend. My husband always, and I mean always, breaks the two cookie rule and fills his hand with as many as he can get. He pays no mind to the crumbles that fall, or if the lid to the cookie jar is actually closed. He’s a messy cookie eater. Still, he deserves cookies.

So I made oatmeal cookie dough, divided it in two, and added raisins to one half and dried cranberries to the other half. I tasted one half of each kind of cookie. They are pretty good but I’ll be able to leave them alone. Guess how I’ll know how long they last?

By the way, I used the Vanishing Oatmeal Cookie recipe from Quaker Oats.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

