Draft dodger, finishing the unfinished

I have come to the conclusion I’m a draft dodger. I have 17 posts started, categorized as drafts in my new post tab in blogger. A quick review has me stumped. What must I have been thinking? Where was I going with that? I think to myself, as I try to make sense from the scanty starts. I should have left a breadcrumb trail.

The started posts range from partial sentences or a picture or graphic saved to draft and never published. Except for the three posts I saved as drafts to take them out of public view…too personally revealing I decided. I’ve tried a blog post schedule and keep a spreadsheet, and up until I got busy with my client work this fall, it worked to keep my post writing organized. Still, some of those unfinished posts are dated during that so-called organized time. Clearly I had a blip of inspiration, got easily distracted, and pooped out on posting.

How often do we start something but lose steam? Yes, I’m including you here. We let stuff get in the way, we’re distracted, or, we don’t truly commit to completion. Are we hoping for better inspiration? More options? Things less messy? Or do we fear inadequacy? Or judgement? Or all of that stuff?

I’m deleting the stuff that makes no sense and saving the starts that could lead somewhere to a file offline to be prayed over and worked on…I figure there must have been a reason the thoughts were in my head.

Thank you Jesus for not losing track of Your purpose and mission. Help us complete our work and our words. Use us to inspire, teach, and convey Your Love. You really rock. Amen

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

