Resolved: Me…again

Last year, as usual, I made a few resolutions. They seemed reasonable, doable, even measurable but for the first year in a very long time I didn’t keep them. At all. What seemed reasonable on the last day of the year last year, got lost in a flurry of other stuff that pretty much changed the shape of our lives. And by flurry, I do literally also mean snow. Snow was a big deal to us former Texicans experiencing our first Virginia winter which was anything but average.

We had significant changes this year, most of which are documented on the tab up at the top of this page where I wrote about our search for a house, the buying process, and moving. Then the fixes began. (Those posts were actually my most read of the year.) The truth is my resolutions should have been possible no matter. I didn’t really try to keep them. I didn’t really pray about them either.

So here we are again. I really do still think it’s useful to make resolutions. Some of my friends have taken to picking one word to be their watchword of the year rather than make resolutions. I couldn’t possibly…could I? Just one word? I don’t think so. I think I should stick with a rerun of last year’s resolutions:

  1. Find a Worship Church-we start Sunday.
  2. Get smarter about writing-read more, write more.
  3. Learn to knit socks-or some other leisure hobby activity.

I went on to add unofficial resolutions which were just ordinary things I needed to do…that a normal adult does or should do. Which, if it comes down to one word, DO would be a good word for me.

My one word for 2011 is Do.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”
Phil 4:13

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolved: Me…again

  1. jasonS says:

    "Do" is a great word! Especially connected to His strength. Happy New Year to you Robin- multiplied blessings!

Leave a Reply

