Thank you notes

Remember to send thank yous to folks who gave you gifts. It doesn’t really matter if the gift was small or big, a paper check, a gift card, or something wrapped in bright paper and a big bow. It’s common sense, common courtesy, and common etiquette to send a note of thanks especially if you’ve had no chance to SAY the word thank you.

E-mail thank you? Sure, why not? That’s probably contrary to “the rules” but I think e-mail to someone who uses e-mail to communicate is fine. There are some creative ways to do that including web based thank yous.

A thank you text? Honestly, in my experience, texts can be fun. I sent a birthday gift to someone who has at least once a week sent me a text telling me how much they appreciate my gift. The texts make me smile every time and I’m always glad I sent the gift.

I’m not perfect. I’ve been guilty of not sending a thank you. I’ve waited way too long too. Waiting too long doesn’t get you off the hook. A nice note is appreciated anytime.

It’s wrong to give a gift to be appreciated or reciprocated. Giving gifts should be heartfelt and without strings or conditions. But there is a certain small part of someone who gives a gift that hopes to hear a thank you and word of appreciation. They deserve it I think.

So, whether you just got a passel of Christmas gifts this year, or farther back, send a thanks. No excuses. Send them. It matters.

***

Tell the truth, do you send thank you notes? Why not? Now is a great time to start a new habit. Yes, I’m talking to myself too!

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

