Peanut Butter Cookies

I’ve always used the recipe for Peanut Butter Cookies from my Betty Crocker cookbook. The one I got for a shower gift in 1973, from not sure who really. It’s a battle worn cookbook, the one I go back to when all else fails along with the rest of my cookbooks. Who do I trust? Betty Crocker. Plain and simple. Along with Good Housekeeping and Martha Stewart, but only if Betty doesn’t have what I need.

I am not known for my excellent baking. I am known for my baking accidents. Accidents like double ingredients, left out ingredients, over baking, under baking, tough crusts, you get the picture. Baking calls for more focus than apparently I’m capable of on an average day. I do try, but I stick to favorites. My favorite cookie has always been peanut butter. They are a lot of people’s favorite I think. I’m blessed with friends who think my peanut butter cookies are good enough to eat, especially the way mine usually end up, which is darker done, and crisp, for dunking.

Here is the recipe as it appears in the Betty Crocker cookbook:

Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1/2 cup shortening (half butter or margarine softened)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix thoroughly shortening, peanut butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and egg. Blend in flour, soda, baking powder, and salt. Cover and chill.

Preheat oven to 375°. Shape dough into 1-inch balls, Place 3 inches apart on lightly greased baking sheet. With fork dipped in flour, flatten in crisscross pattern to 2 inches. Bake 10-12 minutes or until set but not hard. Yield: about 3 dozen.

Three dozen isn’t enough. I have always doubled this recipe. I also use butter. All butter, which is usually salted so I leave the salt at the original amount.

Robin’s Double Batch Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix the first 5 ingredients in a big bowl with your mixer. Measure the last 4 ingredients in another bowl and stir together, then blend into the wet, at least half at a time but just until mixed together. I usually don’t do this all with the hand mixer I have. I end up hand blending. The more you mix the tougher the cookie. Cover with cling wrap to chill. Prepare your cookie sheets with parchment. I don’t grease my pan but just use parchment and reuse for each batch that goes in the oven. This works fine. I preheat my oven to 350° only. Try to stick with 1 inch balls. I use an ice cream curved spoon to gather dough and roll into balls. I use a fork dipped in white sugar not flour because that’s what my mother did. Keep dough chilled and covered between batches. I bake for 12 minutes for near perfect color. Longer for darker of course.  The dough freezes well. Yield is at least 6 dozen if not a few more.

I guess I don’t enjoy baking because it’s messy, and sticky. And you have to measure. Then you have to clean up. But really first, you have to have the ingredients, which means shopping, in a grocery store. Top that off with my gluten intolerance as well as insulin resistance and lactose intolerance…if I bake for you, it means I love you. I love you very much.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

