Close the door?

Here’s something I’m mulling over in my past present continuum. Is a door meant to be closed on relationships? Work relationships?

Moving on from one job to another I had been advised to just close the door. That cutting ties was best for the place I was leaving, that distancing myself would be most helpful to those that needed to learn and do things in their own way, and allow for the new. Or, possibly, recover. There’s that. One likes to think they’ve had a positive effect and leaving a professional legacy but perhaps a tenure wasn’t the best thing. Yes, quite possibly, people need to recover.

Closing the door was difficult. I felt responsible. Especially for those I hired with the intention of raising them up, mentoring, and because I saw possibilities in them that quite possibly others wouldn’t.

Recently I had the opportunity to look back through the door. It was more than a peek. I reached back to pull someone forward. That’s all I’ll say for now. I’m still thinking on what it means and the effect on the continuum. I will say I think we are meant to stay connected.

What do you think?

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

