My favorite graphics

My favorite graphics to use for this blog are the kind of historical and folklorical line drawings, etchings, and illustrations that used to grace the pages of books of all kinds. They were one of the first things art students used to try to master. With simple pen or pencil, we tried to understand and transfer images from eye to the paper. They helped us understand the use of simple and yet accurate and elegant lines. Shades are created by close and overlapping lines, all of which is poetical to me too.

Since blogs are publications, and my blog is a publication of my thoughts, I’m chosing to illustrate with consistent and respectful art. At times, the drawing is the jumping off point for something I write. Sometimes, it will have nothing to do with what I write, it’s just something I wanted to share with you. I will always try to share the source if it’s different than my main websource: Clipart Etc They have carefully researched and provided the sources, as well as improved the quality for use. I appreciate their work.

Let’s consider this my style, my trademark illustrations. You’ll be the first to know if I change my mind.

About the above drawing:

[Coronet] “Description: The instrument requiring the least study; also the most commonplace of the instruments.
Source: Albert Lavignac, Music and Musicians (New York: Henry Holt and Company, 1906)121″

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

