A lesson in job judging

It started off as a kind of joking conversation. My husband said, “I suggested in staff meeting you’d be good at the job.” He looked down at his plate as he rolled peas around. We were having dinner and I had just regaled him with the events of my day.

“You’re kidding? Doing what?” I waited for the joke part. Something like, landscaping, decorating, making lunch, all possible, but not likely, especially with how busy I’ve been with my remote work.

“For a sort of online person to answer questions, keep track of orders, stuff like that,” he said. “Stuff you do and could do at home, with maybe some hours in the office.” He looked serious, and straight at me. “I think you’d really be good at it and it would help me.”

We talked a bit more about exactly what the job was and the time expectation. We also talked about the kind of support he needed and what the other staff needed. It seemed simple enough but I told him I’d think about it. We worked together back in the 1980’s and it had been difficult. So difficult I made the decision to stay married instead of work together. This was different though. We are different.

Still, I had concerns. The biggest being, working as a direct report to my husband. I considered the idea for a couple of days then decided to accept under certain conditions which included my pay rate, which was not reduced because we are married, and that we’d try it out for the seasonal need only. That gave me a timed out. Plus, he had looked at me with those handsome brown eyes and I really did want to help him!

I didn’t actually expect to enjoy the work since it was more general than my usual with far less autonomy. I expected to butt heads with my husband. I got ready to defend and justify. Honestly, working for and with him was the easy part. We were in team stride from the get-go! I respect his time and he understands my work style. No, the different and difficult was working with other areas which after a few weeks got easier as I understood what expectations and needs were and as I built a bit of integrity…a real concern since I might be and probably was perceived as just my husband’s wife, handed a job.

Surprisingly I find myself a bit disappointed the time is ending on the job. I’ve hesitated in telling my husband as much but I will. He is really a good boss and a pleasure to support. I’ll accept him as a client with no hesitation next time and I’ll know it’s going to be a good experience. I’ll also remember this as I consider other clients and jobs!

Have you ever judged a job? Expected to not like the work or the people? Were you right or wrong?

***

Photo: Working at home means cat assistance. Boomer vies for attention.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A lesson in job judging

  1. jasonS says:

    That's cool. Glad it worked out so nicely. I understand the hesitation, but I have seen husbands and wives working together beautifully. It all depends on the people and situation.

Leave a Reply

