Time change weekend & a misc ramble

I’ve been in Wisconsin helping my parents and this last week, I’ve been trying to catch up on my client work I had to ignore. There has been very little bloggy time for me, either to read, and most certainly to write. I have random stuff in my head today so I thought I’d misc it up and ramble out some stuff.

My sister, my tall sister, Marianne, started saying “misc” as in misk, for the word miscellaneous. I can’t stop myself. It stuck in my head and it’s one of the few abbreviations I’m fine with. It amuses me.

We change time this weekend. We fall back. We return to standard, standard time. For some of us it throws us into fits of metabolic turmoil. We mourn daylight. We get up too early, we confuse bedtime hours, and for sure eating meals is just plain out of whack. For others, the time change is scarcely noticed. I’m turning into the later after most of a lifetime being one of the former. I think the difference is my responsibility level.

I had a call this week from a neighbor. This is new for me. I’m not very neighborly really. My husband is the friendly one. She prayed for my mom and my trip to Wisconsin which was very welcome, very sweet. Where things went wrong in my head was when she mentioned noticing the glow of our lights at night and whether I was working or not, and what chair she saw me sitting in. You hear the same music in your head right now that I am huh?

Speaking of music, I’m enjoying Pandora on an Andy McKee station. Try it. You’ll like him.

I didn’t listen to a lot of music in my car on my 14 hour drive home. I enjoyed the quiet. I thought about the words I might write for NaNoWriMo this year but my head was a jumble. The jumble has lasted longer than I thought it might. Lingering angst for my parents takes up my spare thought time. I wrote a few blog posts in my head but have really only remembered one of them. It’s not that I haven’t written words. I wrote lots of them. I kept the family updated nearly daily on our mama and her surgery. I’m considering sharing some of that, so we’ll see.

Priorities shift, kind of invisibly like the time. I’m mulling that in my head a lot lately. For now, misc is what I can manage. What kind of rambles have been in your head?

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

