On Wisconsin: notes from the road

I hit the road for a trip to Wisconsin to be with my parents for a medical procedure. My mom had surgery yesterday, my dad had worry. One of our ongoing topics of conversation when there is a lull is trying to figure out when, exactly when, was the last time I visited my home state. Honestly, it doesn’t seem like it’s been that long. The exactly when point is not missed on me. I should go home more.

Notes from the road:

Toll roads now (I’m so old) cost more than 90 cents a booth but there are fewer of them. Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, have toll roads on my route. My 750 mile trip from VA to WI cost almost $45 in tolls.

Google Maps planned my route. They were wrong on where I’d be crossing from Indiana to Illinois by one exit, and the total trip time estimate by about 3 hours which I think had to do with the speed limits and construction zones, also, Chicago Bears game day traffic.

In the state where I was raised and where my speaking accent was formed I don’t stand out. In the state where I was raised, an accent from somewhere else might be noticed, possibly admired, but certainly not mocked. It’s like an introverts worst nightmare not to blend in, to stand out, to checkers at the grocery store, coworkers, interviewers, people at church. Blending in is a beautiful thing.

Central Standard Time seems so much more normal. Ten o’clock news seems so much more like news. It occurred to me, my bedtime in EST is exhausting me.

Monday, my brother called Bradley’s Department Store in my hometown, from Seattle. He had the salesperson who answered the phone pick something my mom would like, in her size, gift wrap it, and have it waiting for his Ripon College daughter to pick it up. They knew her name when she walked in, the lounger fit like a glove. That puts the P in Personal Service.

Piggly Wiggly. It’s just fun to say. Their cheese case is swell.

We leave for the hospital soon. It’s an hour drive through fields of picked corn and black and white cows, and red barns. My rule is it gets worse before it gets better so this day after surgery is likely going to be painful. We’ll visit, but try not to wear my mom out.

That’s all for today. My time belongs to my parents during this visit. You understand?

***

Photo above taken with my Palm Pre in near stand still traffic in Chicago, on game day.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Wisconsin: notes from the road

  1. cool view of the john hancock building.

  2. Wishing your mom a speedy recovery and a save trip home.

  3. I added myself to follow your blog. You are more than welcome to visit mine and become a follower if you want to.God Bless You :-)~Ron

Leave a Reply

