Working at home: scattered Monday

A busy desktop on a Monday.
Monday, October 11, 2010, from my home in Virginia,
  • Spent the morning updating a database with member information for a church in San Antonio, TX.
  • Took some time to check the progress of the online banking transition of Chevy Chase Bank to Capital One. Anyone know if they are sending new checks automatically? We heard you can’t deposit without new deposit slips.
  • Answered a question from a woman in Iowa about a fresh turkey she can pick up in Middleburg Va. at the Home Farm Store on her way to her daughter’s in Williamsburg, Va.
  • “Attending” the online Twitter release party (#SnowDayBook) for the new book, Snow Day, by my young writer hero, Billy Coffey. It’s a pretty day in Virginia, where he and I live, a little too warm, so the idea of snow is a good thought. I have a column setup in my Tweetdeck with the hashtag so I keep an eye on the festivities.
  • Got a text telling me my prescription is ready.
  • I’m peeking in on a Live Stream from (Refresh)Cache, a conference going on in Arizona for community developers of Arena Church Management Systems. Very geeky boys these, no girls except if you count me from afar, but interesting what they are doing to make things better–or worse depending on your viewpoint. The focus is the web based database software I get to use.
  • Currently having a conversation with a friend who got to go to the conference via IM too.
  • Breaking to update my blog with a quick post. I am working up to my post for tomorrow for the Radical read along. I’ve missed two weeks.
In between my computer work, I’ve emptied and loaded the dishwasher, and wandered about the house looking up at the ceilings trying to locate the battery chirp I keep hearing which must be coming from a smoke alarm. This afternoon I need to make a couple lists of priorities for the week and my trip to Wisconsin, and update my client invoices since the 15th of the month approaches. I also need to think about dinner. I’m in charge of cooking these days. Never my favorite.
I’m having a scattered brain cell day, seemingly out of focus, but maybe it’s just typical Monday stuff. I think that’s the way working at home goes for most people. We don’t have a cubicle to confine us or an office to contain just one job description’s worth of tasks and responsibilities. I long for that at times but I’m grateful to have this work at home right now in its place. I’m especially grateful for technology and the scraps of focus I’m managed to pull together. It’s a good start to the week.
***
Dear Lord,
Thank you for this day and the work we have to do in the week ahead. Thank you for talents and skills and the focus to work well and with excellence. I especially ask for blessing over the work of Billy Coffey and the message his book carries. May all those who need to learn, learn. May all those who teach have the exact right message to teach. In the strong Name of Your Son, Jesus, I pray these things today. Amen.
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Working at home: scattered Monday

  1. Maureen says:

    We are so done with Capital One as a bank. One can only wish for the "old days" of Chevy Chase. My other bank, Wachovia, also has been subsumed, by Wells Fargo. I'd like to just put what little $$ I have under my mattress.

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    I was thinking the same thing. Either that or bury it in a cool whip bowl in the back yard. Thanks for stopping by Ms Maureen.

  3. Jeanne says:

    I saw the review of Snowy Day in the Richmond newspaper and clipped it out to remind me to buy the book. It looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

