"Probably female"

The other day I followed a link that promised an instant analysis of my blog. Alrighty then, let’s take a look at this text analysis of gender, age, mood, and tonality for my Blogger blog: Robin M Arnold: All things.

“probably written by a female somewhere between 51-65 years old. The writing style is personal and happy most of the time.”


That’s actually exactly what I’m going for, even the gender ambiguity is fine with me. My writing teachers stressed writing objectively, fairly, with a neutral voice. All things is where I focus on more serious writing, especially work related and leadership topics, books, and including documenting our recent search for a home this year.

Let’s see what it says about my other blog, my much older blog, I started at Windows Live Spaces I think back in 2007, and I’ve been busy migrating to WordPress this last week because they offered that as an option. It’s called Robin in Va. This blog has shorter posts, usually more personal and opinion related. The chart shows a clearer indication of female voice, and it also appears I’m older over there. Honestly the results are probably skewed because there’s a significant gap in posts. Since it’s based on the last 10 posts that probably makes a difference I would think.

Honestly, I’d love it if I had a lot more readers and the discipline to keep a blog well fed and people coming back with interesting stuff to read. Writing blog posts, it turns out, is more work than I imagined. The truth is I’m best and happiest writing about nothing in particular. It comes from years of newsletter work and writing to fill gaps or inches. But really, I have every hope I’m helpful to some, inspire others, entertain at times, and for sure, honor God and my family. I’d hate to embarass them although I’m sure I have at times.

Things have changed for me since I started either blog, especially in the last few months. I suspect that means it will translate to my writing focus but I’m not sure how that might affect stats like what see graphed here. Maybe it won’t? It has most certainly impacted what I read and who I read. So we’ll see.

If you have a blog, or have a favorite blog you want to take a looky loo at the analysis, click on the main black half pie chart graphic in the upper left with the URLAI///who are you? Go ahead and share what you find in the comments below.

Be blessed in your reading and writing this week!

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to "Probably female"

  1. jasonS says:

    I did that analysis and I think it says 'probably female' for all of them. I was a little concerned so I tried a couple other guys' blogs and it showed the same. :)Robin, you bless me. Filling in the gaps is a very godly thing to do!

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    Really, because a couple of my female friends(younger) results are "female" and not probably. Maybe you guys are good at the neutral voice. I bet your academic chart is strong. Thanks for stopping by Pastor friend.

  3. lani says:

    it said my blog (not the one i do for caitlin) is probably female, written by 18-25yrs old, and happy. i don't know whether or not to be offended by the age range there. the blog i write about caitlin is mostly female, happy, but written by someone aged 13-17. HAHAHAH. that made me laugh 🙂

Leave a Reply

