OK Go: Pleasantly disturbed Thursday

I’m a cat person. We are a cat household. Boomer, my husband’s cat tells me that all the time. I do have doggy friends but none right now that come to visit. Just ones I follow on the Twitter. Yes, I follow dogs on the Twitter. So does Boomer. Who you can follow at @BoomerArnold if you’d like. He’s not that tweety.

I got a box of work delivered yesterday. I’m someone’s secret weapon. I’m actually several people’s secret weapon and it turns out I can make a little income in doing so. What I noticed about the Washington DC area is that lots of cutbacks were made in companies all over the area. Lot’s of bigwigs are working without their company paid assistants but they are hiring personal assistants to take up the slack. On the one hand, it’s disturbing to me that the honorable art of support work got cut from payrolls in respectable companies under the guise of saving payroll dollars, but then hiring personal assistants as subcontractors, with no benefits, no payroll taxes, etc.. This seems like bad thinking. Where is that reported in statistics? But it has opened some doors for support work options. Clever people can find work even if it’s working between the lines.

My mother is finally having surgery in October. She injured herself back in May with like a groin injury but nerve related. It started encapsulating then her leg started to atrophy. This was all clear to my Mom and clear to my brothers and sisters. Her pain level has been incomprehensible. We have all wept in sympathy. Finally, finally, finally someone said enough is enough and ordered up the surgery. Why do we put people in pain through process ordered by insurance companies for their convenience. It just seems so wrong. I very hate them for making my mom cry in pain.

My mom IM’d me the other day. She typed, she was talking to my sister-in-law, and my sister-in-law suggested she talk to me about coming to help during surgery. Clever disguise there. Mom wants me to come help take care of her. Of course! I don’t need to be asked. I was on my way in my head the minutes she said the day was scheduled.

Lately, I am surprised by how invisible I seem to be to people I really think I want to be noticed by. This disturbs me mostly because of my current reading, today’s mission focus, and how really self absorbd that sounds to type. I do wonder what I’m doing wrong. I have cute dogs.

Let’s watch them again!

***

This post is a contribution to Pleasantly Disturbed Thursdays.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Pleasantly Disturbed. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OK Go: Pleasantly disturbed Thursday

  1. Helen says:

    Your SIL is lucky to have you! I would have been miffed that SIL didn't discuss it with me but was making me the bad guy if I didn't come, even though I was planning to come…. But then, I don't have any siblings, which means no SILs. You ARE a clever woman to recognize that it was your mom being to proud to come out and ask for help!My prayers for your mom, and that you feel less invisible in the context you are describing at the end of your post.

  2. Kate says:

    I like the OK GO doggies, too, but have you seen the Ikea cats? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCB7RqGS684

  3. Robin Arnold says:

    Helen, we've been conspiring. I have terrific sister-in-laws. Thanks for the prayers! Oooo kitties at IKEA. I had not seen that. Thanks! I'll have to post this too sometime. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

