Refrigerator pickles & the imaginary family chorus in my head.

I woke up a bit sour this morning. Birds were screeching outside my bedroom window, probably at the kids waiting for the school bus, whose air brake squeal makes my ears pop, my husband left all his breakfast stuff on the kitchen counter with crumbs and a goopy peanut butter knife, and, no coffee in the pot. Then I found Boomer in my chair. Again. Of all the chairs in the house, he picks my office chair as his favorite. With him out of the way, I checked my spam, because that’s all I had in my e-mail, no answers to my work related questions, or messages of a personal nature, I’m so ignored and invisible. And then I checked my social media to find all I could muster up as a status was about the cat urp I cleaned up in between all that other stuff this morning.

“Don’t be such a pickle puss.”

Family sayings have a way of grounding a situation don’t they? I heard a chorus of my mom and dad, brothers and sisters all poking at me, chiming in, to point out how silly my attitude was this morning. I laughed at myself out loud. I CAN be a pickle puss. I’m an expert pickle puss. I also recognize the pickle puss in others and believe me, I know pickle puss people! You know who you are I bet. Which makes us all pickle puss experts.

The answer is laugh at yourself and move on. Those tiny things up there are just ordinary life stuff we are lucky to have. Muster up your excellent self and get on with the day working for good, not for evil.

So there you go. The motto for the day.

So, let’s make pickles. Here is my much loved recipe.

Refrigerator Pickles

6 cucumbers, washed, sliced thin.
I buy pickling cucumbers if I haven’t got any from the garden. If you can’t find those, the long Armenian cucumbers with the bumpy skins are best because they don’t have wax on them, and because they have smaller seeds.
1 cup red or green pepper or some of each, sliced thin
1 cup sweet onion sliced thin
2-6 cloves of garlic peeled
6-8 peppercorns
1-2 whole cloves

Mix or layer these vegetables in a large glass jar (2qt or larger). I use a large clamp lidded jar from the Container Store or a large recycled glass pickle jar.

Mix together:
1 1/2 cups of sugar
1/8 cup of salt
1 cup of vinegar

Pour over the vegetables in the big jar. The sugar won’t be dissolved really but don’t worry, it will in a few hours. Store in the jars in the refrigerator. Later and several times a day, shake the jar to mix and redistribute the pickles.  They will be best in about 3 days but we usually can’t wait. Will last up to 3 months in the refrigerator.

Options:
Can be doubled but I usually repeat instead to be sure the proportions are correct.
Add more zip by adding the hot pepper of your choice.
Zucchini, smaller ones, can be pickled. I haven’t experimented with things like green beans, etc.

These are great on a sandwich especially with all the peppers and onion etc.

***

“Let me embrace thee, sour adversity, for wise men say it is the wisest course.”  William Shakespeare

Cucumber photo: http://www.professorshouse.com/your-home/gardening-plants/growing-cucumbers.aspx

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Refrigerator pickles & the imaginary family chorus in my head.

Leave a Reply

