"If I jumped in a time machine & went back to school…"

Kem Meyer asks and answers this question on her blog today. It’s a question I’ve been asking myself lately. I have a couple different answers most of the time. Here’s how I feel today…

Since we are traveling through time and since we can do that under my rules, we know then, what we know now. The first thing I’d do is finish college, no matter what. I’d also make that same decision for my husband although he does have a degree. We, me, would take business courses specializing in management and administration. And, I’d also take as many journalism classes as possible. Forget the art I started out in…my mother was right…that was dumb for me…my creativity needed to be nurtured but in a different way.

Since we are in the time machine, I’d take a spin or press some buttons and make some people appear that would inspire, nag and nudge me, encourage, and hold me accountable. Especially that encouragement part. For sure I’d have laid my heart at the feet of Jesus sooner. Part of education is surrounding yourself with good people and good circumstances as much as possible. Get in church, stay in church. I’d have done that sooner too.

The fact is, my interests and gifts were different back then. I think I did pretty well and the school of hard knocks was hands on learning that was incomparable. I’m wiser now, and I’m a late bloomer to some extent. I learn differently. The fact that this question excites me tells me I don’t need a time machine to consider the idea. It’s an option that is a wide open door.

Kem’s right, certain degree programs have nothing to do with the reality of an actual job. General is better, and sometimes the shortcut isn’t the answer at all. The answer is in the struggle.

***

Lord, bless all who are seeking to learn where You need them and how best to serve. Thanks for our gifts and talents. Your Son rocks! Amen.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things, Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to "If I jumped in a time machine & went back to school…"

  1. Robin Arnold says:

    Thanks Kem. The discussion over at your blog is really interesting. Love reading your stuff!

Leave a Reply

