Get a lot done day…hopefully

Are you like me, you need to pretend to have a directive in order to get your to-do list done?  And know someone will be checking on you? Some days I’m all about the self discipline to get things done. Other days, I’d rather read or watch TV all day, or follow rabbit trails on the Internets under the guise of research. I need supervision. Well, not really supervision so much as accountability. Sometimes I Tweet for accountability purposes, figuring getting a deadline or project out in the open makes it some kind of accountable. The fact is, probably none of my Twitter followers got the accountability Memo so that’s no threat at all. I can’t believe I just typed that out. Now I’m going to know what I suspected all along…and I’ve caught myself talking to myself and telling secrets on my own blog. Anyway, I’ve declared today a Get A Lot Done Day. You are invited to check up on me.

I’m not really a list maker but now and then it’s helpful. I sometimes use tadalist.com to make a simple list. See, here’s my Thursday list for today. I’ve already started off behind. The big fun is checking the items off. I’ve been known to put things on the list I know I can check off already. What kind of person does that? (Besides one that is easily entertained?)

One of the items on my list is STILL changing the address on our driver’s licenses and registrations. We are actually already in violation. I’m caught in a circle of automated systems and may have to go sit in a VDOT waiting room in order to get the job done. You’d think it would be easy but, in order to use online services, you have to CALL in for a PIN number to insert in an online field. The automated call system does not have PIN number requests as one of the options, plus you have to speak your request. My accent must be throwing them off. I’ve not yet been understood correctly and only one time came close to getting any useful information. Today, the automated system says that due to the overload of calls, please call back. Then it dumps the call. No other options are given. If the system is already overloaded, and there are not enough staff to assist, why is this system in place? If I were in charge (and I could be since I am available), I’d build security in the back end of the process, not the front. Yes Virginia, you need a PIN clause.

Thanks Duane for giving me an excuse to write some misc today. If Pleasantly Disturbed is up your alley, then go read more over at Duane Scott’s place. Thank you/You’re Welcome.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Pleasantly Disturbed. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Get a lot done day…hopefully

  1. jasonS says:

    Please let me know if proclaiming a day "get a lot done day" works for getting a lot done. If so, I need to start proclaiming these days often! šŸ™‚

  2. HisFireFly says:

    The only thing I've checked off my list is writing my Plesantly Disturbed post..and now I'm disturbed that i haven'ty done more.Accountability.. who needs accountability?

  3. Duane Scott says:

    "I've been known to put things on the list I know I can check off already. What kind of person does that?"Snort! I totally busted up laughing. I do that. And I'm disturbed. So you must be too. šŸ™‚ Welcome to the club. We're an entertaining bunch!

Leave a Reply

