Sweet sweet Saturday

At this point of the week I can honestly say there was a lot to be pleased about. It’s been a sweet and pleasant week.

I’ve begun getting out and about my area and a deep appreciation came over me for how extraordinarily beautiful the landscape is around me. We had rain this week which has perked up the roadsides and rinsed a coat of dust off my car. I love driving down my country road with a view of the mountains in the distance. It does my heart good!

Looking Southeast on Double Church Road, outside Stephens City, Virginia, between Front Royal and Winchester.

On Tuesday, I sent off three resumes. On Wednesday, I had two calls. On Thursday, I went to two interviews. I met some swell people doing some awesome work in my new area and I got more excited about the possibilities and His plan for me. My work search has just begun but I appreciate that this first week was so successful and encouraging. I know I will find something where I can use my talents and skills and where I’ll have the opportunity to help support my family.

Yesterday I found my nearest fabric store and it wasn’t as far away as I thought. It’s a 13 mile drive or so but pretty straight forward. When we find a home, usually a fabric store within a short distance has been required. That’s because fabric used to be so intergral to my life and work. In the past I’ve never been more than a mile away from a fabric store or stores. For the last 9 years or so that really hasn’t mattered so I only shopped for fabric or supplies one or two times a year. My interests are more computery. Where I used to own 3 sewing machines, I now just have 1 but I have 4 computers. My first thought this move was for local computer resources. Still, a girl has to have clothes and curtains. I realized yesterday how very convenient my new neighborhood is and as I mentioned, how beautiful. The drive was scenic. It’s win win.

If you are like me you have certain blogs you read and are fans of some bloggers who do weekly features. One of my favorites is Glynn Young’s Saturday post each week. He lists his favorite “Good Reads.” It would be impossible to gulp down his Saturday post so take your time and savor his suggestions a few at a time like I do. This week, I was surprised and honored to find myself listed. My post, Heaven is the goal, did spark some good comments and connections. I still can’t tell you who inspired this post but I have heard from the blogger who was also pleased with the resulting post. From both of us, thank you. 

And thank you Lord for the sweetness in the week!

What are you pleased about at week’s end?

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Virginia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet sweet Saturday

  1. it's good to hear the happy chirps of getting settled in the nest.

  2. Maureen says:

    Wonderful post, Robin. Who could not be upbeat after reading it?When J. and I were out in Culpeper last weekend, we said the same thing about driving along the road and seeing the mountains. Of course, getting off Rt 29 is the secret.Much luck with the job hunt.

Leave a Reply

