It’s time to work

My only job since last October was to get us settled in Virginia, our new home state. This involved buying a home closer to my husband’s job, and the process of getting us moved and settled. The actual home search began in January and our move-in was early June. We are mostly settled but some major fixes called for are still in progress but nearing completion.

Not working outside the home has been okay. I’ve done some freelance work from my computer but for the most part, I’ve worked homemaking for our family. The really blessed thing was when my husband shattered his heel last fall. I was there to nurse and help him. Then my admin skills came in handy for the business of our home purchase.

But…I’ve been itching to get back to work at a “real job.” There are several reasons for this besides a bit more financial comfort. I need to get to know our area and new city, and people, but I’m naturally shy, and perhaps a bit agoraphobic. I am too comfortable in my nest. Working forces me to get out. Working at home requires a certain level of self discipline. I miss deadlines and accountability, in other words, I miss productivity, and to a large extent, success.

I just really NEED to be and feel useful, to be productive for the planet. I need to support and encourage, and be creative. My prayer has been for the Lord to put me where He needs me so I’m open to where that might be. My experience and work love has been church administration but I am open to other opportunities. I love to learn new things but I’d also love doing what I do best, and with excellence. I rock administration. I can rock most anything….through Christ who strengthens me!

So I’ve begun a serious job search. Jobs are fewer in this area, and especially fewer in my area of expertise.  Churches in this area of the country seem to be smaller, less structured, even less the center of the community and the services offered. I can tell this by the number of church parking lots I drive by on an average day, even a Sunday afternoon, that have no cars in the parking lot, and the windows are dark. Still, I’m confident there is a place for me. There’s a business of some sort that needs someone with my strengths.

Your prayers are appreciated and stay tuned. My first interview is tomorrow.

***

One of the things I’ve done in the past is sew, stitch, and craft. This week I’ve sorted through some of my stash revealed by our recent move, and discovered a stack of unfinished projects. This is a basket I must have set aside with everything needed to complete this antique quilt and lace heart that will likely become a wall piece.
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s time to work

  1. I hope you're search leads to something really special. I am trying to find what my work is after 2 decades of being a stay-at-home mom and homeschooling our kids. It's an exciting and scary time for me. I feel so vulnerable and new, like a child on the first day of first grade.

Leave a Reply

