Heaven is the goal

Several comments about death lately have me concerned about certain views of death and heaven. I am very clear and because it comforts me, even empowers me I thought I’d write through to see if it makes sense.

Our life goal is heaven. We are born, we live, we die. There is no guarantee for the number of our days. Some lives are short, some are long. It’s not ours to judge which is better when the goal is the same. God give us a guide and an expectation for how we need to live, and end.

Mourning a loss of a human or even a much loved pet is about our own loss, not what is gained in heaven by the one being loved into heaven.

Today I read a blogger’s explanation that is so pure and beautiful I’m sharing an edited portion. (The blog is not public.) It was in the context of husband and wife, and as parted in death.

It’s not that you won’t love or know each other in heaven, the fact is that you will be in the presence of God, and that love is so overwhelming that it cancels out every other need that we may have in this life. No hunger, no pain, no sexual desires, only pure love from God. Why be sad about losing things of this world when you are gaining so much more?

This blogger refers to Mark 12:18-25.

The tears I shed for a loss are my own pain, or guilt, for falling short I think. There are the things I didn’t say, the notes I didn’t send, the visits I never made. Those are all about me, not about the beauty of being at last at the feet of Jesus.

As a cancer survivor my own mortality was put before my eyes, the number of days, the quality of those days and whether day to day I glorify God, in my thoughts, my work, the way I love those around me. I’m not sure I’ll get another day. None of us can be sure. I can say in all honestly I’m ready. I also want those who love me to be happy and glad when I go to be with Jesus. I’m looking forward to release from earthly anxieties and worries, and from this earthly body. (I’m taller and thinner in heaven.) I am most certainly not worried about being separated from you in heaven. Which means I need to do whatever job of being a good friend, wife, mother, now!

Mourning is about loving someone into heaven. Memories should comfort us and help us move forward, hopefully having learned to focus more on the living instead of the loss. My prayer for those who have lost, feel lost, is for peace and understanding, and most especially rest in what is to come. Heaven.

+++

 “Heaven” c.1910, a painting by Hans Thoma. Reproductions can be found HERE.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heaven is the goal

  1. Robin, this is beautiful. I hope my loved ones can celebrate when I'm called home.

  2. jasonS says:

    I somehow missed reading this before, but I'm glad you tweeted it again. What a great description and I didn't know (or remember at least) that you were a cancer survivor. God gives us such a beautiful assurance…Thanks for a great post.

  3. Maureen says:

    Robin,You've written a beautiful essay.I don't know if you've ever visited OurCancer (npr.org/ourcancer). This would be such a wonderful piece to contribute there, if you are so inclined. If you don't mind, I would like to add a link there to this post. I have a lot of posts there.Your sentence "Mourning is about loving someone into heaven" says everything.

  4. Robin Arnold says:

    Thank you for stopping by and for your generous comments. I appreciate the encouragement very much. Sandra, it's an honor.Jason, I had thyroid cancer and take a little green pill every day to keep me alive. That puts things in perspective on a daily basis. Maureen, I appreciate whatever advice and guidance you give me and feel free to link however. Be blessed all y'all. You have blessed me!

Leave a Reply

