Technology tip: Read guide BEFORE installation!

What’s up with no posts this week? I’ve been updating my computer.

My new computer came with XP Pro installed with a Vista upgrade. I had planned to use my computer in a work environment that would mean it would be networked. The network administrator preferred XP. But since that didn’t work out, my computer is now in my home where I do not yet have a network setup… although with 3 computers, 2 printers, wireless, and a 3G Pre, it might be next on my list to tackle.

The other night I was searching for another piece of software I knew I had when I came across the Vista upgrade and thought, oh what the heck, let’s just do it. So I popped the disk in the drive and the install ensued. It’s been three days of updating and trying to reinstall all the things the Vista install wiped out. I’ve already located the file where my old XP stuff is located, BUT, it’s not going to be the same and it’s been a pain in the patooty.

I’m also getting over the fact there is no compatible e-mail program. That’s right. Outlook Express is no longer standard, and no longer compatible. And the Office 2007 suite that came preinstalled on the computer? Gone with the Vista install. I just plain gave up on the catch 22 click circle I got lost in with Mr. Microsoft over trying to get back my suite and key. I’m over it and will likely go with OpenOffice.org.

Opening the fat Vista installation guide I found, in the first few pages, fair warning of all of these things. I should have read the stupid guide instead of assuming. Seriously, it’s not hard, it’s just boring. I’m trying to multitask as I go. And, I’m sure I’m getting double housework points!

***

Here’s a picture of the other thing we’re fixing.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Computering. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technology tip: Read guide BEFORE installation!

  1. Best of luck with all your repairs and updates. 🙂

Leave a Reply

