Thursday? Really? I thought it was Wednesday.

I miss working at a real job, away from the house, one I have to wear non-wrinkled clothes and carry a purse and maybe my lunch. It’s how I tell what day it is. I just found out it was Thursday from Duane. No, actually, it was Glynn who told me it was Thursday.

It’s not that I’m not working, I’m working remotely on a church audit checking membership data, updating, etc. I’m accountable for time, and being productive, after all, I’m reputed to be good at stuff like this, and I’m getting paid, and I’m especially feeling accoutable using church funds that might otherwise be used on something churchier. I find myself praying for the families that I’m checking, especially the ones that have life transition changes…divorce, death, marriage. I can work in my pajamas and often do, unless I know there will be a webcam on, then I comb my hair and make sure no coffee stains show. Still, I didn’t really realize it was already Thursday.

I miss Office 2007 and Outlook. My new computer came installed with a trial version and it’s a little too spendy to buy the full version right now. I just had to pay Steve the plumber to fix a vent stack issue that our home inspector missed. Sewer gas was being vented into our walls when I did laundry. It’s as icky as it sounds.

It stormed this afternoon and is hot and very humid. The flies are flying slow and dumb and are easy to swat. We have flies at this house. It must be the country living, and the farm across the way. We didn’t have flies in the city. I’m blaming their horses more than their llamas or their sheep. Horses draw flies. It’s not personal. It just a fact.

I hung pictures in the house this week. It’s starting to feel like our home. I also decided that I really like this house. That’s good. My husband says it’s the last move we’re making. Scary on the one hand, a relief on the other.

My husband is late for dinner. That’s why I’m writing randomly. It’s all I can muster for the time being. I think I’m connecting this to Duane’s blog carnival. We’ll see. I don’t work widgets well.

Be blessed. I hope you know what day it is.

***

Photo: Taken by my daughter this week, in London, of buttons and books, and random stuff for sale in a market. She knew I’d love it, and I do.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things, Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thursday? Really? I thought it was Wednesday.

  1. jasonS says:

    Wonderfully random. Very nice! Also, like the new blog design -don't know how long you've had it, but I think it's great!

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    Thanks Jason. I remodeled a few weeks ago. I'm still surprised when I click in.

  3. Hi there, Robin. Another disturbed person here.And now you've scared me. Can I be webcammed and not know it? I could be in real trouble.

  4. HisFireFly says:

    Thank God I'm not the only one who loses track of days. Earlier this week someone posted a Wordless Wednesday post on Tuesday and I was afraid I had toally lost an entire day!No webcam here.. so I don't have to brush myhair!

  5. Helen says:

    I lose track of days, too. Glad it is your last move. Great randomity.

  6. Duane Scott says:

    You know what's really sad? I posted the Pleasantly Disturbed THURSDAYS post, and got out to my office and was doing all the things for FRIDAY. Imagine my embarrassment! But now I'm telling you. Anyway, this is awesome. I love the randomness. It's really great! 🙂

  7. Kate says:

    The lady selling the buttons and books and bits and bobs was lovely, too, and she really would have liked you to come and sort through all her buttons. She even put John to work, reaching an old Scrabble board from the top of a display for her. This tends to happen if he stays in one place too long — people ask him to reach things off tall shelves.

  8. I'm feeling a very strong urge to plunge my hands into the containers of buttons. I just love that feeling… I'm bursting suddenly with craft project ideas. Mostly, I just want to swim in a giant pool of buttons.I, too, was lamenting the Office 2007/Outlook thing this week. My trial version has come to an end, we are closing out the books for this fiscal year and are on an airtight budget with no room for the full version. I work for an interfaith network and I also have that same guilty feeling about the money being spent on "churchier" things. :)Love the new look! Thank you, Robin.

  9. I am home 4 days a week and work 3 days at an outside job. Funny, I also sometimes forget which day it is. I love being home since I can work from my studio and wear wrinkled clothes. Lol!

  10. I also wanted to mention that I love the photo your daughter sent you. Wishing you a great weekend!

  11. buttons and books…i like those too.andi like your random thoughts for thursday.

  12. I love getting a peek into your world, Robin. Your world always seems to be so organized, homey and smelling like snickerdoodles. Maybe all this warmth and affection I associate is because I am one of your former office assistants. ;]What's your favorite part of nesting new places? I see you hung pictures up…that's my favorite part of the process. It's like putting your fingerprint on the place.

Leave a Reply

