House hunt update: Let’s close already! But wait…

Closing has been nerve wracking if I let it be so. I suppose that’s just because I’ve had time to fuss over it. If I were working at a real job, I wouldn’t have had time to overthink or obsess. At this point we have not yet had final word as to whether our home loan has been funded. The mortgage company seems unconcerned to an aggrevating degree. Closing in Friday. It’s Wednesday. I just know this is my payback for working a deadline nip and tuck in the past!

Okay, so, we could look at this as a test of faith. Our prayer has been for the Lord to make the way if this is what He wants for us. Who are we to push the Lord? Or demand a certain timeline?! Or question at all? We should have faith it will all happen. We need to wait upon the Lord.

In the mean time, I need to do my part so here’s a list of stuff I’ve done to get ready.

During this closing week:

  • Insurance: I confirmed the new homeowners insurance policy and made sure it was paid for by setting up our online account and getting a confirmation. While it’s common for this to be included in closing I felt it better to just go ahead and get it settled. This morning I e-mailed the title company and sent them my receipt to prove it was paid.
  • Down Payment: I called our Texas bank and had the down payment transferred to the title company. Since I haven’t heard about the loan yet, I don’t actually have the final numbers. I hope I’ve guessed correctly but we will get reimbursed for any overage, and I’ll go to the closing appointment with our checkbook should things run over. According to our final accepted contract offer, the seller is paying all closing costs.
  • Working File: I’ve created a file box of important papers and information, a sort of a desk in a box. This is where I’m keeping important mail, bills, receipts ect. Because this move is for my husband’s job and is beyond 50 miles, the expenses are deductible. So the cost of the truck, boxes, gas, mileage, and the expenses related to the business details will be expenses I can deduct on our taxes. I also have a notebook I’m keeping contact info and notes on what things I’ve done, addresses yet to be changed…which are another faith question…I’m waiting until the keys are in my hand to change addresses.
  • Packing: I finished packing the upstairs, including the kitchen. I’ve left out immediate needs stuff and plan to pack those last bits just before loading the truck or car. I’ve missed two days working on my workroom studio stuff because my cell phone signal is wonky downstairs. I need to make up for lost time this afternoon. I’ll be multitasking though and doing some laundry.
  • Other Stuff: I’ve designated a spot for charity donations and recycling. The pile is growing although not really at the rate I imagined. It’s funny, this morning I listened to a message by Francis Chan and suddenly our stuff feels exceptionally heavy, mostly unnecessary, burdenlike. I wonder if we’ll ever have the guts to release some or all of what we carry simply because it’s family stuff or mementos of our life? And what makes some stuff easier to let go.  I think the pile needs to be bigger. A lot bigger. You might not have time to view that message now but save it for a quiet time later. It’s powerful.

I’m grateful for my God, my husband, and my age, all of which are helping me feel fairly calm and grace-filled. (I learned a lot about GRACE yesterday.) And most important, we are pacing ourselves so we don’t wear out, physically or emotionally! We’re anxious, but excited, for what the Lord has in store for us in the days ahead.

***

Isaiah 40:31 (King James Version)

31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in House hunt & homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to House hunt update: Let’s close already! But wait…

  1. Best of luck with your move! Enjoy your new home and surroundings. Wishing you all the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

