A collection of grace

If you can’t get grace in a church, where can you get it? I remember thinking that to myself nearly weekly as a church administrator. I call that a dope slap question. You know, a question where the answer should be obvious. YES. Yes, allow grace for more paid time off for an employee with family issues. Yes, give grace and help a church family with their electric bill, for the 4th time. Yes, be grateful for grace and talent, when asked to host an event that will surely tax time and resources.

Now, out in the real world, the question is revised but still a touchstone…If you can’t get grace from a Christian/me, where can you get it? I’m a child of the most high God, what I’ve been given, I need to pass on. It does no good to hold on tight, generalize, judge, or be chained to preconceived notions.

Here are three favorite grace messages in music.

Grace set free

Precious praise

History & power

Amen & amen

***

This post is part of the Blog Carnival on the word Grace. Please visit Bridget Chumbley’s One Word at a Time Blog.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Word At A Time. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A collection of grace

  1. jasonS says:

    I can't see the videos, but I'm sure they're great (blocked at work). You're right though- if people can't get grace from the biggest recipients of it, something is wrong. Thanks Robin.

  2. katdish says:

    It's the greatest of ironies that, having worked closely with church staff in the past, there were those who really never grasped the concept of grace. Not the case now, praise God!

  3. Helen says:

    Grace is easier to ask for than it is to give. And sometimes it isn't that easy to ask for… But you are right. We must freely share what we have been given.

  4. Robin Arnold says:

    I think hearing stories of need and troubles wears on a person so there's that. Also, there can be expectation that a church staff member is held to a higher standard, but they ARE human. Thannks for the comments. I appreciate you very much. Thanks for reading.

  5. Maureen says:

    I think there is an expectation that because one is in ministry, one is always available, or should be. We forget how very human is the one who ministers to us.I've come to have great empathy for our own priest, who in her time with our little parish has said so many masses for so many who have died and dealt with so much more. She's recognized when she needed a much-deserved sabbatical last year and I, for one, was pleased she had the grace to take it.

  6. Glynn says:

    The music is beautiful, Robin, and the question is right on the mark — if you can get grace from us, where are you going to get it?

  7. lots for me to think about.i know i don't always use the gifts that i have been given to administer God's grace.

  8. I love the music. I too have worked with staff members at church that truly don't understand grace… fortunately I now am at a place where I see it offered more abundantly.Thanks for this, Robin.

  9. All three of these videos make me smile and cry and want to dance and jump up and sing Allelleuia!

  10. Tricia says:

    I had been in the church many years before I ever experienced tangible grace expressed by a human and then I began to realize that pre-Christians are more likely to show grace to others because they know how much they need it. Sometimes all the rules in the church get in the way of God being God in our lives, don't they?

  11. caryjo says:

    At present, I attend a very "graceful" church. Even when I don't agree with something, their hearts are in the right place, cutting grace to so many people. We've experienced so many blessings in this past 21 months with my husband out of his normal job… checks in our church mail box, taken to dinner, gift cards for groceries and the occasional call reminding me to be sure and let them know if we run into a problem. What a blessing! What a wonderful example of "grace"fulness.

Leave a Reply

