Mother’s Day needs a different name

I think the British have it more right and celebrate “Mothering Day.” My daughter has made sure I get a card or a phone call on that day since living in the UK which is how I got introduced to the holiday. Don’t get me wrong, I think celebrating mothers is great but there’s so much more to mothering that doesn’t necessarily involve a biological connection, age, or maybe even gender. Women in general, but anyone who has an influence in a child’s life should be appreciated and thanked. That means that whether you’ve given birth or not, and, you have a child or two in your life that you love or care about, or lookout for, we thank you, we celebrate you, we honor the job you do.

You never know what a child will remember most about their childhood, or the people they meet along the way. For me, two of the most memorable and awesome women I remember were single ladies, one a neighbor, the other a teacher, and neither had a child of their own. But they had me, through the kindness and encouragements.

Today I wrote on my Facebook Status:

To all the women in my life, young & old, thank you for the way you care about the kids in your life, the job you do, the example you are, of a strong & swell woman of the planet. You represent, you rock!

I’m not sure what a better name would be, and really the day is fine the way it is, but I’m celebrating so much more than my own dear mother, and that’s a lot because she sets a high standard. Isn’t she cute? She is an example to me everyday! She is still the best cook I know, reads more books than most anyone, practices the piano and plays duets, walks at a pace that is hard to match, and goes to mass every week. She is a dedicated volunteer and a terrific friend. My mom is an amazing grace.

Happy Mother’s Day

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Family, Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother’s Day needs a different name

  1. Candy says:

    Love this Robin. You don't have to be a mother to mother. Happy Mother's Day! Your daughter is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

