What Fred said helped us house hunt

My husband has a best friend he left back in San Antonio but the two of them stay pretty well connected. If they don’t call each other, they e-mail. I’m not going to say they chat more than most women friends I know, but I’m just saying…they are pretty close. Just when I thought I was the only one in love with the Barn House, my husband shared this e-mail conversation with me:

The following e-mail conversation took place March 29 between 10:30 am and 3:57 pm.

Bob,
Well, how was your week, and weekend? The baby shower went off without a hitch. A good time was had by all, including myself. While the party was going on, I went out and bought a new set of golf clubs. Sunday, Phil and I, and a couple of salesmen, played at La Cantera. A little windy but all and all very nice. I shot an 85 with new clubs, so I was very happy. I also finished the screens. You wouldn’t believe it, I didn’t have a quarter of an inch leftover. I guess it was dumb luck. With everything going on I didn’t get a chance to work much on the Post Office project. I did drill all of the holes for the hardware. I’ve got to cut 3/16 of an inch off of each screw. So 42 more screws to go. Sunday evening I went to Juli’s and pulled weeds. We had already done this several weeks ago but I guess with the rain all of the conditions were right for a bumper crop. Do you know of anything that kills the seeds of weeds? How are things going with the house hunting?
Fred

Hey Fred,
I had a pretty good weekend, fixed some screens this weekend too. Had two spots where a wild cat (not Boomer) tore through the porch screens, so I repairs those and also replaced the screen on the door that was starting to tear around the edges. Went for a haircut and just kind of puttered all day Saturday. We went out looking at houses yesterday and found one we both really love but wonder if that si the right thing to do. It is actually a barn that was built in 1900 that has living quarters built into half of the upper mow. The lower part of the barn is built into a hill and would make the most amazing workshop you can imagine. We both would love to jump on it but are trying to be grown up here and make a good decision. We also found a terrific house, both size and price but it is up on top of a mountain, and it is unbelievable the trip up and down. I just can’t see us getting used to the climb and as we were driving up there, Dueling Banjos kept going through my head. Well, we shall see what happens. We are looking forward to seeing Katie and John this weekend and hope you have a blessed weekend too. Talk to you later.
Bob

Dear Bob,
The Lord spoke to me in a dream and told me to tell you to get the barn! He also said the shop should be 60 cubits by 30 cubits, made of gopher wood and sealed with pitch. Bring two of every woodworking tool known to mankind and go out into the world and multiply your projects.
Fred.

Can I just say, I rolled on the floor and belly laughed BIG, I mean, tears, rolling down my cheeks! Fred, bless his heart, supporting a dream shop, over sensibility, and the Lord speaking to us through Fred, what a wonderful thought! I’m going to be grateful for that for a long time!! I really treasure their friendship most.   

I used to have a custodian named Rafael who never wanted to work on Saturdays. He was an extremely hard worker, in fact had two jobs. But he didn’t work on Saturdays. He would say, “The Lord said, Rafael, Saturday is your day of rest.” Whenever he had to decide to do something he would say, “The Lord said, I should/should not…..” And, I do believe the Lord and Rafael had that kind of relationship. It just makes me smile. So as I read Fred’s opening words in response to Bob’s description of the barn house, it made me delighted, but also supported in a funny sort of way. We did really want that house. I still do. But as my husband said, we are “trying to be grownup.”

Next post: the grownup things that helped us decide NOT to buy this very special house. 

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in House hunt & homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Fred said helped us house hunt

  1. Maureen says:

    Wonderful post, Robin. I saw a fabulous house in that barn. Of course, I've also always wanted to make a home in a church (or should I say, turn a church into a home).

Leave a Reply

