Back and forth, deal, no deal, deal

Frankly, I’m good at the house hunt. I like the research. I have the ability to see potential in good home bones. I get excited and enthusiastic when I find what appears to be a good match. And, I’m pretty good at weeding out the emotional from the reality, then when it comes down to it, the right decision is easy. But I don’t enjoy the business end of the home buying process. I’d much rather say, “Okey dokey fine, we’ll pay that.”

While I have the spiritual gift of wisdom, it’s the stewing kind not the instant, immediate, lightbulb on kind. I’m better at discerning after careful thought and most certainly, after sleep. I don’t like to be pushed or rushed to judgement. It seems to me that once an offer has been made, what follows is frantic pushing. I’m not sure it’s necessary. I’m not at all sure what we try to fit into a tight schedule is what is just desired, or necessary, or what has become common practice just because. When it comes to committing hard, already earned money, and money of the future it pays to take it serious and slow. Our economic times tells us, this makes sense.

So you probably understand when I say our current home negotiation has not been my favorite part. I’m even a bit discouraged by how not excited I am about our new home, moving, doing the fun stuff. Buying our home in Texas was easier and went smoother back in 2001. Things seem more complicated here in Virginia. We’ve done what is now always recommended and written contingencies into the offer which base the offer on various inspections of the systems and the house, on financing, and on the results of some tests such as for the level of radon. Our seller, a house flipper and surprisingly a realtor, wanted us to remove all of our contingencies. He wanted a quick closing. He didn’t want to be “nit picked,” he said, and pointed out how long he’s been in the business of remodeling. I felt a bit insulted at that point.

We insisted on an inspection of the house, but felt inclined to compromise and not base the sale on results of the septic or radon. It’s not that we weren’t going to get the inspections or the tests. We felt, we wanted to know this stuff, but frankly we had confidence of a good result. The house is in amazing shape having just been remodeled. It’s pretty on the outside and as our inspector said, the flipper/realtor “did a good job of putting a new dress on the old girl.”

Thanks to inspections and tests various things were revealed. Some serious, some truly, “nit picked.” We’re handy sorts so we aren’t afraid of a fix  but two things worried us, well one really. The septic system is of concern and still an unknown at this point due to circumstances. But, we know there is probably an issue. We have a list of about 5 issues within the mechanical systems that will need to be addressed either immediately or within 6 months of move in.

Inspections are a new thing. Our parents didn’t have them and I think even back in 2001 it was a new concept. I’m glad to know things, but really, how helpful is it if a seller is unwilling to deal with issues? I feel like the back and forth in the last week trying to negotiate with an unwilling seller was a waste of time. In the end, we’re buying the house “As Is.” We’re also agreeing to hurry up the closing. I feel the hairs on the back of my neck raising just writing that out. Believe me, we have been willing to walk away from the deal. We had to sift through the emotional reactions to personality and weigh against the features of the house, location, and value.

I think we’ve tried to make a smart decision. We started out with one goal in mind and sifted through to find an answer that isn’t the result we expected. It’s probably better. We hope it’s better. We pray it’s better. We should be having a joyful time I think, but we don’t feel joyful, we feel worn out, and the real work isn’t even done.

Perhaps we need a couple days to recover from the intensity of this most uncomfortable end of the home buying process. Is there such thing as post decision let down? I think so. I think the busy back and forth and 2-hour trips to our new city in the last few weeks have kept me busy and excited, certainly interested. Printing forms and reading loan lingo is painful. And so is getting home owners insurance quotes.

In all, we sat in prayer over every part of the decision process. My husband says we have never approached a decision so filled with thought and communication. We have prayed for God’s Will and His Peace. I think we are getting there.

Photo taken by our daughter, Kate. My husband looks like I’m squeezing him too tight, and those jeans of mine should be, and usually never are, worn outside of the house!
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in House hunt & homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back and forth, deal, no deal, deal

  1. Maureen says:

    Robin,I have to marvel. I would not have had the patient grace you show in dealing with the realtor-seller. I've never though house-buying should be as fraught as it is. And yet holding the keys to a place to call one's own is rather special.Thinking of you and keeping you in prayers.

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    Thank you Maureen! I think about what you've said to me before, about how a house should take care of you at some point. That was a revelation so I'm grateful.

  3. Helen says:

    Congratulations! May God bless you and your husband with many happy years in your new home!

  4. GAil says:

    Congratulations! Which airport should I fly in to help with the move?:)

  5. Robin Arnold says:

    Moving…I guess I should think about that huh?

  6. Glad to have found your blog. I just signed in to follow…Kristi

Leave a Reply

