New realtor Monday

Before I could wheedle out of calling the new realtor, she called me.

I battle with the phone, and I most especially battle with calling strangers. I usually have to pretend I’m my sister Marianne or even my Dad to muster courage to meet new folks, even over the phone. But Wanda Himes jumped right in to make sure I got to see what I wanted to see.

We met at house number 7 on Old Oak Lane. I was under the mistaken illusion this was in an area with paved roads and other modern notions. The house seemed modern and on some sort of level lot from the picture. I checkrd the aerial and couldn’t be certain. Alas, picture B was taken from the deck, looking down. At the road. See my car? Not the car near the garage. Look further. That roundish lump is my Cruiser, which is parked just off the road. What appears to be a sidewalk, is the 1 lane dirt road. Note also condition of rail, rotting facia on the garage, and oh so many more things that don’t show up in photos.

House #7- Old Oak Lane

Status: NOPE!
We had this house in our system for some reason, thinking, between the commute and the more modern style, it would be just right. It was very disappointing and I wasn’t looking forward to telling Bob. I took lots of pictures though, which really told the story for me.
As much as I wasn’t looking forward to a new realtor, it was surprising how easy Wanda was to talk to. She asked good questions and was fun to watch as her eyes darted around a room. She pointed out things of note, concerns, and answered questions from a very knowledgable view. I started to like her very much at that first house!
House #8-Marshall
Marshall is a very small, charming, historical, and folklorical town…which means you pay extra for all of that. It’s not often something comes on the market so when it does, houses are snapped up quickly. I called Bob to see if he could come down to look at the house and he did. Marshall would be perfect for us, it’s about 25 minutes to my husband’s job, and a tolerable commute into the DC area if that’s where I get employed, and I do want to be employed. We looked at this house because of its rarity and its price, which is doable. It’s a typical red brick rambler but it’s been remodeled and there is an L addition off the back of the house. There is also an additional full bath not listed in the details. I loved the house. Bob was okay with it. Unfortunatley an offer was made by someone else so the works had begun. We didn’t want to get into a bidding war, and I had planned to go see other houses on our list BEFORE I even found this house for sale. I figured it was the right thing to do. Also, the price was in the way upper range of what we have determined is our limit. Bob did dream a bit about where a shop might be built on the lot, and even more, dreamed how great it would be if his commute was 1/3 of what it usually is! We are kind of sorry we were slow about thinking on that house I think. We are mooning over it.
Status: Nope (unless the deal falls through and the price is dropped when it’s relisted=not likely)
All in all I am impressed with our new realtor. She is professional and I love the way she thinks. She seems to have an affinity for houses, which makes her perfect for what she does. She sent me a thank you message later, and I heard from our first realtor too. I appreciated her concern and care in the matter.
Upwards and onwards. I have three houses on the list for tomomrrow!
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in House hunt & homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New realtor Monday

  1. Helen says:

    We were house hunting a few years ago. There was a house I just adored, but we couldn't afford it. The house we did buy though turned out to be just perfect for us. It is home now. I'm sure you'll feel the same way about the house you eventually choose.

Leave a Reply

