Snow-portunities

***NEW SNOW SHOVELS***

Have I told you how hard it was to find a shovel earlier this winter? I looked everywhere. They were sold out because I waited until the snow storm predictions seemed to be true, and accurate. My daughter had promised me winters that had only “light dustings” of snow so I didn’t actually think I’d be needing one in a hurry. I ended up shoveling the first big storm of snow with my garden shovel. It took me 4 days to dig out. It was the wrong tool for the job. It’s hard to find a hardware store or big box home supply store that has shovels in stock for purchase. A friend in Arlington tells me that in her neighborhood, a shovel left leaning next to the front door apparently leaves it open to be borrowed but few have yet to find their way back. There is a shovel shortage. Imagine my surprise when I found a bunch of ads like the one above. And, it’s NEW. Cool.

Here’s another snow-portunity. Someone wants to trade a snow blower for an iPhone or a Playstation. Do you think that kid’s parents know he has an ad on Craigslist? And clearly he hasn’t read about what a hero he’d be if he used the thing himself, just like Snow Blower Guy. That guy gets plenty of rewards, some of which are pie!

Speaking of trading. Someone wants to trade TWO Dell laptops for a snow thrower. I hope my husband doesn’t get any ideas. And if he does, I hope it’s his stuff he considers trading.


If you have $2,000 to spend on snow recreation this seems fun, a Ski Bike.

Speaking of recreation, around town if one wanted they could participate in an organized snow ball fight. News media have been helping promote what appears to be a tradition here in the DC area. I’ve seen the Facebook event page, now they have taken it a commercial step further, with a logo, t-shirts, etc. Who can fault them for taking advantage of a snowportunity?!

Then there’s this ad I spotted:

For Rent

“$140 1BR Affordable Snow Fort Sublet In Capitol Hill – $140 a month, including utilities. 10 minute walk from Union Station and Capitol South metros. Amenities: Wireless internet, doorman with fez, premade snowballs. Available for move-in immediately.”

Awesome!

I’ve been trying to think of things to do with snow. It looks like school and businesses are closed the rest of the week. My own husband is home from work. Moms are finding ways to keep kids busy. Check out this blog for recipes for snow treats. I remember once trying to make snow ice cream. I don’t picture me going out to collect 8 cups of snow, do you? Well maybe. I do have a big boy at home to keep busy.

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow-portunities

  1. Helen says:

    I am not a fan of snow. A little dusting at Christmas is fine, but otherwise…

  2. Glynn says:

    I love these. Especially the bike.

Leave a Reply

