Groundhog Day

Google Groundhog Day on Groundhog Day and you get:

Results 1 – 10 of about 2,810,000 for groundhog day. (0.21 seconds)

And that’s at this minute. In the next minute, the results will be different!

Just like the results up there, getting through Christmas for a church worker can be like getting 2,819,000 hits all day everyday from Thanksgiving through Epiphany. On the church staff where I worked we decided to give ourselves the gift of not celebrating a staff Christmas, instead, releasing that time to our own families. Groundhog Day is the holiday I chose a few years ago to celebrate getting through the Christmas season, and celebrating with the staff a holiday where we bore no other responsibility to make the holiday meaningful for anyone but ourselves.

The idea is pure fun and silliness, with maybe a bit of recognition for a job well done. So, with that idea I invited staff to my house for a party for staff and their spouses. I talked my husband into making his world famous potato leek soup which is so comforting to eat. Made from root/ground vegetables, it seemed appropriate….along with the ham of course. (We don’t even think about eating our mascot!)

I often would leave my Christmas decorations up for the lack of time to take them down so they naturally became Groundhog decorations. And part of the best of our celebrations included a “White Groundhog” (instead of Elephant) gift exchange. What fun! In fact, my White Groundhog prize from last year is on the bottom bookshelf in my old office, now someone else’s office…

Which leads me to this year. This year, I’m not on an awesome staff of an awesome church. But I am connected to those people and more, through this blog, Facebook, Twitter, e-mail. So this year I’m celebrating virtually. I am celebrating anyone who works hard, especially for others, especially through a season in a deep dark hole. We’ll get through this. God has a plan. And whilst the opportunity might not be clear at the moment, He is with us. Persevere. There is a new season ahead.

My prayer today is for those in Mission and Ministry, those who work caring from others. Those who have worked tirelessly to save lives, especially in Haiti and in places where disaster has hit. Hits can hurt and hurt deeply. But hits can also take us places we’d never even dream! Be blessed today. Big rocking hug too!

***

I just checked Google again:

Results 1 – 10 of about 2,960,000 for groundhog day. (0.27 seconds)

Happy Groundhog Day!

***

Painting above: Groundhog Day by Andrew Wyeth

For the record, there have been no shadows in Woodbridge VA this morning.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Groundhog Day

  1. Ann Kroeker says:

    I love traditions that unfold naturally like your Groundhog Day party! And I like what you said about "celebrating anyone who works hard, especially for others, especially through a season in a deep dark hole. We'll get through this."When you tied that in with the workers in Haiti, I thought of the deep, dark holes from which they kept bringing up people.Yes, I agree: We need to celebrate and pray for those reaching into and working from inside literal and figurative deep, dark holes.So nice to meet you through HighCallingBlogs!

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    I find myself profoundly affected on a daily basis by what is happening in Haiti right now. Thanks for stopping by. HCB is one of my best resources and inspirations!

Leave a Reply

