Can you have too many books?

“A book is a present
you can open
again and again.”

We have always loved books in my family. The favorite gift to get or give is a book. The photo here is our current “library” which represents about 1/2 of the books we currently own. We cut back on books when we moved and I left a bunch packed. It’s really all we have room for at the moment. I actually explained that to the books left behind in the basement. I carefully repacked the boxes after selecting the ones to go upstairs and felt bad about not taking them all up. Rest assured, these specially boxed books live on the finished and heated side of the basement and I keep them company whenever I’m sewing or doing laundry. A dehumidifier runs and they have a very attractive cover, in case they get cold or in case Boomer gets a notion to nap on the boxes.

My books are like friends I can’t live without. In fact our books were in the first phase of our move to Virginia and one of the first things I unpacked. I didn’t actually feel good about our new home until I had books around me. It wasn’t the kitchen stuff, the bathroom stuff, or even my computer. It was the books I needed to have close by.

One of my Facebook friends is Half Price Books and I actually miss them like a friend too since there are none in close proximity to us here in Virginia. I voluntarily get e-mail book spam and am on the BN (note insider abbreviation) newsletter e-mail list, and I love hearing my Outlook sing a new edition into my Inbox. I totally mourned the loss of The Common Reader.

We found a swell used book store in Manassas thanks to the advice of a coworker. It’s called McKay’s and they just expanded! I’m on the prowl for more bookstores, especially used bookstores. I’d rather go without lunch than a book. I especially like older books and have a bit of a collection. I have a good collection of Christmas books and Gardening books, and I can’t resist books about Frank Lloyd Wright. I used to collect children’s classics but I’m over that now. I also had an ettiquette book collection that included everything from proper thank you note writing to work place manners. I’m not looking for anything in particular right now, except books about Virginia plants and trees.

I can get lost in book stuff on the Internet. Have you found Google Books yet? Oh my bookness! I get blurry eyed reading on the computer screen so truly I have to restrict myself with what is available. I am physically better with a book in my hands. Self discipline has allowed me in my older age to savor a book chapter by chapter instead of gulping them down and forgetting normal life stuff.

Because I love books I’ve dreamed of being a writer but have so much more to learn. I have begun to follow some writers and literary agents on their blogs and on Twitter. In fact one of them sent through this link to a cool website: Most Interesting Bookstores. Be sure you look at the pictures of the libraries too.

I’d love to hear about your books, your favorite bookstores, and book websites.

What I’m reading:
Genesis on my way through the Bible in 2010.
How to Reach Your Full Potential for God, by Charles Stanley

Up next:
On Writing, by Stephen King

***
And the answer is, nope, you can’t have too many books!

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can you have too many books?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I really like when people are expressing their opinion and thought. So I like the way you are writing

Leave a Reply

