Lust eats the soul slowly

Lust eats the soul slowly,
obsessing,
consuming,
gasping,
into the dark and deep
of enemy’s grip,
suffocating promises,
fouling vows.

It burns and bloats
procrastinating days away
until no innocence remains,
one flesh gone forever.

Each two sided day
remains dark,
knotted,
throbbing,
rotting,
the stink of want,
wastes the other day away,
one flesh gone forever.

Lust justified!
Lust laughed!
Lust argued!
Lust falsified!

Breath by breath
no pleasure
in pleasure
no joy in fear
no wonder in loathing
no honor in lies,
wander not into lust,
one flesh gone forever.

His Wholeness
finds me broken
and I am overcome,
in sorrow,
in grief,
in regret,
unworthy,
to lift the veil of darkness.

Light of desire,
save me,
claim me,
destroy my enemy
with Your Blood,
wash me of want
bring my soul to YOU.
my One flesh is forever.

Note: As a listener friend I can say that lust leads people down paths of personal destruction when a married person is tempted and acts on lust. This poem is about the ugly path through the sin of lust and the return to faithfulness and Jesus. These words spilled out of me with such intensity. I have to say I am hesitant to share this.

My poem is for the blog carnival on the word lust. To read more visit Bridget Chumbley’s Blog, One Word at a Time.

***

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Waxing Poetic, Word At A Time. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lust eats the soul slowly

  1. Glynn says:

    Ultimately, lust is about self-destruction, and you captured it here well indeed.

  2. Robin Arnold says:

    I don't think this is finished yet. Thank you Glynn.

  3. Such despair… but in the end the "Light of desire" brings hope!Nice post, Robin.

Leave a Reply

