Resolved: Me

My resolutions this year are about me, for me. Usually they are all, or mostly, about my work. I think I got seriously out of balance. I mean, seriously. With all the changes that happened this year for me, and with the way the year ended for me, I think the message I have from the Lord, is to get back in balance!
Resolutions for 2010:

#1 – Find a Worship Church. We need to be in Worship, my husband and I. We miss church. We need church. God needs us to be in church and in service.

#2 – Make myself smarter about writing. If I love writing so much, if I experience flow state whilst writing, I should get better at it. Long range, I’d like to be good enough to be published and make some sort of living from writing. There, I’ve said it. So, I’ve got two Christmas books to begin reading, thanks to my daughter, with a plan to write every day and study where and when I can. I have hopes to find some workshops too.

#3 – Learn to knit socks. I think I have a deep need to have busy hands and to knit as well as a few I admire or have been related to. My grandmothers knit. My great-grandmothers knit. I have feet that are hard to fit. I love hand knit socks. I think the only person taking on the challenge of knitting me socks, would and should be me. I checked my knitting needles and I have my grandmother’s and my great-grandmother’s bone double pointed needles in my workroom. I’m sure they are blessed!

Unofficial Resolutions:

#1 – Stay on top of bills, pay on time. I confess I don’t always pay things on time. I think I’ve paid more late fees than ever this year. Why? Because whilst I can take care of others, I have a hard time taking care of me. This year, I/We come first. I’m going to make it possible to always have what I need to pay on time. This includes online accounts setup, stamps, return labels, even where the nearest post office boxes are to mail.

#2 – Eat better quality food, eliminate white sugar, if at all possible grow vegetables or buy locally grown. Our recent broken footed experience proves that home cooked meals portion controlled helps control weight. I hate like heck to admit that. But the evidence is clear. Since October we haven’t had but two fast food or restaurant meals, and I believe both of us have actually dropped down a bit in weight. I also think beverages we choose are important with more water being key.

#3 – Walk farther and more often. I can’t possibly even say the word exercise and be serious about it. I need to only try to walk farther and more often. We’ll go from there.

#4 – Get back in touch with my arty/crafty self and be arty and crafty. I think my relatives miss this part of me. I haven’t really, because honestly, I’ve awakened a sleeping giant inside me that loves financial/business stuff. I really had no idea and it’s felt like such a miracle to find out I have wisdom and smarts in that area. I really do rock as an administrator! Nevertheless, I think for balance, the creative stuff will help keep me balanced, and I’ll be less likely to spin all tilted. Also, I have tons of stuff undone and supplies galore. This is easy to step back into. And, I’ve already started with my knitting!

Not forgotten:

Now anyone who knows me might look at these resolutions and think, “Gee, she seems to be missing one, shouldn’t she resolve to get a job?” Yes, I need to be employed, to help support my family. But the fact is, I’ve asked the Lord to put me where He needs me. I have backed off on the process for the last months or so because of our health and personal stuff (I’m sure this has been the Lord’s plan too). BUT, I will hit the job market with gusto on Monday. The Lord will put me where He needs me. This I know.
And I think my motto for the year is taken from the advice we got as kids from our parents before we left for school or work each day, and still do. That is, “Study hard, get some A’s, raise your hand a lot,” and I’ve added this year, “remember to use your blinkers.”
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
Proverbs 31:25-28
***
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolved: Me

  1. Robin Arnold says:

    Read Michael Hyatt's blog for the reasons and ways to be successful at resolutions. http://michaelhyatt.com/2010/01/how-to-make-new-year%e2%80%99s-resolutions-stick.html

Leave a Reply

