How to do community

Lately I’ve been interested in reading about community. We are new in our surrounding community, new streets, new public transportation, new stores, new insurance, new drivers license, etc.. We are looking for a community of faith in which to belong and Worship. I’m looking for a work community to contribute to via my gifts and talents in the hopes of helping to support my family (praying for the Lord to put me where he needs me). I’m even finding my way into new online communities of like-minded writers, artists, and regular folks. As a life long Introvert, the concept of community is a challenge and not intuitive. I know all the reasons for being, it’s just not that easy to do…community.

In fact, Community, is the topic theme for a swell group of bloggers I just recently found. Here, take a look at what they call a “Blog Carnival.” Bridget Chumbley is this week’s organizer. I dare you to read all the blogs listed there–and the list continues to grow!

As someone finding my way, things are different, and not just geographically. A community has its insider ways…its way of operating, shortcuts, language, etiquette even. How do you learn how to do/be in a new community?

I think the best guidance is from John Wesley, who said:

Do all the good you can,
By all the means you can,
In all the ways you can,
In all the places you can,
At all the times you can,
To all the people you can,
As long as ever you can.

I really don’t think Mr. Wesley would mind if we added a few lines…I can think of a few, can you?

The other thing to keep in your mind as a guide for relating and being responsible in community is:

Build a bridge, and get over it.

Simple as that.

Photo is of the Millau Viaduct in France. Find more info HERE.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Word At A Time. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How to do community

  1. Glynn says:

    Love that: build a bridge and get over it.

  2. katdish says:

    Love the bridge quote, but that bridge? GAAAA!!!!Nice to have you join the carnival! Also nice to see that you are a lovely lady and not, in fact, a bird.

  3. Came here via the carnival … Hi!Like the Wesley quote!As for where's the guidance … guess that's your part to play in this community 🙂 Welcome!

  4. I really enjoyed this, Robin. I love the quote, and that bridge is awesome AND terrifying at the same time!Excited to have you join the carnival… It's much more fun than 'lurking'.

  5. Robin Arnold says:

    Building a bridge can be difficult but it's never impossible. (One of my favorite scriptures is Phil 4:15.)I think that bridge represents so much more on so many levels!Thanks all!

  6. The poem from Wesley, superb. It says it all. Yes community,(COMMUNION) IS FOR ALL, TO ALL.

  7. Robin Arnold says:

    "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me" Phil 4:13 (not 15)

  8. Peter P says:

    Great post. I'm so glad you joined the carnival!and Katdish… LOL!

  9. LOVE the quote from John Wesley.I often say I don't believe in burning bridges, and I'm always ready to build one. After THAT photo, it'll never seem quite so hard again. WOW.(oh good grief i love heights, skydiving and rappelling but that puppy scares me)

Leave a Reply

