50,000 Words

It’s November so I am making an attempt at participating in NaNoWriMo . That’s National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write 50,000 words this month. No kidding. And, as they say, “December is for editing.” I found out about this from someone I follow on Twitter. One thing led to another and I found myself with an online account and all signed up. Not that I’m a person with books rolling around in my brain cells, I’m not actually that faithful about taking time to blog. But I have felt like there could be a book in my head. I’ve actually even been encouraged by others from time to time. And, since I’ve found myself without the weight of a church world on my shoulders, why not?

My husband had a fall at work and shattered his right heel, that’s why not.

He fell coming down a ladder, which slid on the floor underneath him and then pancaked down. He actually landed standing straight up on his feet. He theorizes that his right heel came down on a ladder rung. His calcaneus bone shattered, in just 4-5 pieces. And when they say shatter, they describe how an eggshell shatters from an impact. It could have been worse. He won’t need surgery but he does have it just wrapped for now. No cast for another few weeks. He is on crutches and must stay off of it, no weight on it. The fact is, he doesn’t even have an urge to put weight on it. Judging from what we can assume since we don’t unwrap it and look at it, he is still swollen and by the end of the day, his little piggys are pretty plumped up. He hurts. I hurt looking at him. My quiet, tough husband hurts.

Much to my shame, I have under appreciated all the “man things” he does and takes care of because now I’m doing them. I’m taking out the garbage and the recycling and remembering what days the trash man comes to collect. I’m running up and down stairs, in and out of places on errands, and carrying EVERYTHING because a guy on crutches can’t really carry stuff. And, I’m feeding the cat. I’m opening cans of food and smooshing it down on his plate just so, and letting him in and out, and in and out, and in and out.

And, I’m driving. I’m driving him to work and everywhere else he wants or needs to go. (He insisted he could drive but I have resisted that idea, for now.) The drive to his job is 61 miles or in our terms 90 minutes. So off we go, me with laptop and an apple in my bag, and I drop him at work, then I go find a spot to write. I’ve found libraries to be the best place for me. I’m not a writer who can focus on writing with a lot of conversation and commotion going on around me. I love people watching too much for that. So coffee shops are out. Nope, a quiet library is a good place for me, especially surrounded by all those words, all those books and periodicals.

Via the NaNoWriMo website, I’m hooked up with other writers in my geographic area. I’m an Introvert with a captial I and really, less people is more for me. I have no intention of going to write-ins or socials. Well, except I think in my library sits I am amongst other writers that are participating in this month’s monumental task. The tap tap tapping of laptop keyboards is all around me in a library. In a drifting moment of thought I imagine why they found themselves there… but back to this…

So, NaNoWriMo while interrupted, isn’t off for me. I’m just a bit slower and I figure on catching up this week. My husband must be healing, he is tolerating longer work days than at first injury. He calls when he is ready, and I pack up and go pick him up. I might even let him drive soon. He swears he can drive left footed. I confess I do get more writing done some other place besides my living room or office. It could be the inspiration of all those words around me or the gentle tap tap tapping of keyboards to urge me on.

The point in all of this and I want to say this outloud, how profoundly grateful to our awesome God–that I am available to help my husband in this way, and that I am able to spend time writing, praying, considering these opportunities, waiting upon the Lord, for whatever comes next. I am especially grateful for the days of healing of my husband’s foot and our relationship which has been slowly fracturing in my years of obsessive work. In these days of healing there is opportunity and I intend on having an open mind and heart for what the Lord wants for me/us. And whether I have 50,000 words by month’s end or not.

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.
Isaiah 40:31

xxx

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

